Powerbook - can it run two external displays?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by deep square leg, Jan 18, 2004.

  1. deep square leg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Tasmania
    #1
    My PC has been on its last legs for years. However, I do run two flat 21" CRTs off it, which is very nice.

    I'm still trying to decide whether to order a G5 in a few days or get a powerbook. The portability would be really handy, and of course when I get home I could just plug it in to one of the external displays.

    One advantage that the G5 would have is that I can easily use both monitors (I'd have to get a vga-adc or a sun-adc adapter for the second one, the first could use the included vga-dvi adapter).

    However, the powerbooks only have the one MiniDVI or DVI port. Is there any way to add a secondary external display? Any expansion card? I could use s-video, I suppose, but the quality would not be the best. Can anyone tell me what the s-video is like in the powerbooks?

    Thanks!
     
  2. thehuncamunca macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    don't know of any laptops that can run 2 different displays
    you could probably get a connector that would allow you to connect 2 monitors but both would display the same image
     
  3. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
  4. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

    kwajo.com

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Bay of Fundy
    #4
    something i've been wondering: can you use a second display and use the s-video out at the same time? I want to try this for colour correction with Final Cut. any one have experience with this on a alubook, or do I just have to try?
     
  5. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #5
    I can't see any possible way for one video card to do this - the ones with dual output are essentially two cards on one board.

    You'll probably also want to check that the G5's video drivers can handle two video cards. That's not a given either.
     
  6. cpjakes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #6
    There are PCMCIA cards that run monitors for the Mac, can't remember the site/company but I'll look around for it in a bit...

    cpjakes
     
  7. D0ct0rteeth macrumors 65816

    D0ct0rteeth

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Location:
    Franklin, TN
    #8
  8. cpjakes macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    #9
    That'd be it...
     
  9. deep square leg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Tasmania
  10. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    dualies

    Laptops can't do more than one external display at a time (maybe two if they are the same image) because it HAS to run the laptop monitor itself. Very intriguing idea about the s-video and the display idea with FCP, though. I want to try that.
     
  11. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #12
    So you want to have 2 21 inch monitors and the monitor on the laptop? totally 3 monitors?

    And i thought i was greedy ... LOL
     
  12. deep square leg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Location:
    Tasmania
    #13
    Haha no, I'd just have the notebook shut on the desk when at home... I've got a thing for symmetry ;)

    appleretailguy: so, is that VT product mentioned in this thread bogus?
     
  13. revenuee macrumors 68020

    revenuee

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Location:
    A place where i am supreme emporer
    #14
    Actually ... when my baby goes under, and it's time to upgrade i think i'll go portable... and that VT thing looks awesome ... so i'll probably end up running 3 monitors

    there is no such thing as to much screen realestate ... i want a multi screen set up like in SwordFish or Tomb Raider :)
     
  14. tdhurst macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    VTbook Idea

    Well, first off...http://www.macmall.com/macmall/shop/detail.asp?dpno=319774

    In theory, looks like a great buy. However, there is no info about units in stock or ship date....

    I am a bit wary of a product like this, but I see no real reason why it won't work. The DVI out port and the cardbus work independently of each other. I would be VERY interested in demoing something like this first, HOWEVER.
     

Share This Page