Powerbook CPU always at maximum!

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by thepacmac, Jul 14, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    Kuzumaki, Iwate
    #1
    I'm in desperate need of some advice. Almost all of my powerbook cpu processes are being taken up by the Finder. I've tried repairing permissions and clearing the PRAM but nothing seems to work. I only noticed the problem because the fan won't stop running. I've attached a picture from the activity monitor and am continuing to search the web but I can't seem to find anything.

    It's a 1.25ghz Powerbook G4 with 512mb of memory and 10.3.4.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 68040

    Grimace

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Location:
    with Hamburglar.
    #2
    I force quit finder and the problem goes away. i get it too - maybe twice a month. 17" 1Ghz PB.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Location:
    Kuzumaki, Iwate
    #3
    It worked

    It worked. Thank you, but does anyone know of a better/more permanent solution?
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #4
    Same thing happened to me once. I had left it on all day (before I set Energy Saver prefs) and when I came home from work, the thing was *HOT* and CPU was running at full. I was panicing, but all I did was restart my machine and I haven't had a problem since... weird though. 2nd request for a more permanent fix.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Location:
    Planet 10
    #5
    Do you run Classic or Classic Apps? Stop Classic and check again.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
    #6
    This happened to me before, and I *think* my problem was that thing where the desktop picture rotates between several folders. It just got stuck sometimes. I turned that off, and the problem went away, but now that i think about it, I turned it back on and haven't had a problem.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    mainstreetmark

    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    Location:
    Saint Augustine, FL
  8. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #8
    No, No, and No.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    TURKEY-İSTANBUL
    #9
    i have the same problem in the moment i did everything that you wrote...but the problem still on....i restart my powerbook but the same....there is a different in my monitor.... not the red ones are high the green ones are high in my monitor....the fan doesnt stop .................. :(
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    #10
    Try turning off "Show Icon Preview". Finder might try to display previews of some huge files.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    TURKEY-İSTANBUL
  12. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #12
    I would fix the permissions, restart the computer and upgrade to 10.3.5 (and all the other fixes from apple). This often takes away A LOT of problems....
    System updates ARE bugfixes (well sometimes it bring new bugs..)
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    TURKEY-İSTANBUL
    #13
    i did every thing....when i leave my PB and do nothing even then the fan is on :mad:
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu.jpg
      cpu.jpg
      File size:
      84.7 KB
      Views:
      47
  14. macrumors 6502

    Mr. G4

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    #14
    Do you have a second monitor attached to you PB?
    I just noticed that when I attached a second monitor my PB (15" 1.5GHz) is extremely hot.
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #15
    If you sort by CPU usage, can you go to the top or bottom so we can see what process is using your CPU?
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    TURKEY-İSTANBUL
    #16
    here is my CPU usage list
     

    Attached Files:

  17. macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #17
    if you use terminal an type in: "top" (without the "s)
    then you will get a more spesific list,
    paste it in this tread and we would possibly get an ide og whats going on.
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    TURKEY-İSTANBUL
    #18
    i noticed something.... i just disconnect my PB froom the internet... i turn off my cablo modem.... and look what happened...but as i turn it on it gets crazy again...
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu.png
      cpu.png
      File size:
      40.1 KB
      Views:
      31
  19. macrumors 65816

    tomf87

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    #19
    You are still sorting by Process ID (PID), though. You need to click on the CPU column until you get an arrow pointing down. Scroll all the way to the top, then send us that image.
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    ... and change the drop down menu from "My Processes" to "All Processes" to find the name of the process that is sucking up you CPU resources.
     
  21. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Location:
    TURKEY-İSTANBUL
    #21
    ok every one thank you very much for your help i just found it why.....
    the problem was NORTON ANTI VIRUS AUTO PROTECTION..... but i did not understant why??? i am using it for 10 months maybe and this is the first time i had such a problem....i know what think abaout me "you fool why are you using virus protection, macs dont have any viruses... :mad: " i realy dont know the answer :eek: ..... but anyway THANKS TO EVERY ONE HERE!!!!

    in Turkey here the Macintosh users say that "using a Macintosh is a delight" i cant translate it exactly :eek:

    i just realized it again ...thanks again :D

    PS: sorry for my eng...
     

Share This Page