Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chibianh

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 6, 2001
Colorado
How many of you tibook owners here carry it around a lot? How many of you are in college and carry it around a lot?

I'm currently a freshman in college and am going to get the tibook as soon as the next revision comes out, whether at the end of this month or during the summer. I will be carrying it around a lot and I want it to last me until I graduate.

How well has your tibooks held up? What types of carrying cases, protection, etc. do you use? Is carrying it in a backpack good enough?

I currently have a 3 inch thick, 15 lb black pc laptop (SLIGHTLY exaggerated) that I carry around. The thing, however, is very durable.

p.s. The iBook is out of the question.

nonreflectiveobject

macrumors newbie
Dec 18, 2001
I've had a tibook here at college for quite a few months, now. It's durable if you don't bang it around. The titanium case will get a few scratches. It happens. Overall, just take care of it and all will be well. The screen is most likely the most fragile part. I would suggest cleaning the keyboard and screen with a swiffer sheet (found in any convenience store/walmart, etc) fairly frequently. Any padded carrying case will do you fine.

MacAztec

macrumors 68040
Oct 28, 2001
San Luis Obispo, CA
Here here!

I think I read in a Macworld or some other Mac magazine where they performed a real test. They got a Ti Powerbook, and a car, and performed a test.:D No joke here...

They Dropped it out of the window of the car at 20MPh, and it worked fine, just some scratches.

At 30MPh, the monitor didnt work, but they hooked it up to an external and it was fine, no problems.

At 35MPh, same thing happened as 30MPh.

At 40MPH, the machine broke. It no longer worked. I dont think you will be inflicting that much damage ;)

I also saw a test for an iPod if anyone cares.
On a bike, they dropped it: