Powerbook G3 DVD problem

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by steveca, Sep 4, 2006.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
  2. Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #2
    I'm not sure there's much you can do about that.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #3
    Sorry about that :)

    Actually the problem is:

    "I have a powerbook G3 Lombard and upgraded from OS 9.1 to Jaguar. The DVD drive works perfectly, OS X recognises DVD discs from Cd's Cd-r etc but DVD player is not installed. How can I play DVD's once more on my Powerbook???"

    Posted twice... sorry
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #4
    I will bet the problem is Jaguar. Upgrade to Tiger and I'm sure it will recognize it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #5
    Can't update to Tiger cause I dont have Firewire port. The lombard does not support Tiger. Only goes up to 10.3. Jaguar is actually recognising that the disc is a DVD (makes the cd icon with dvd written on). It did not install the DVD player when I installed it :confused:
    This should happen when the dvd is external but its not external :confused: :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  6. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
    Mac OS X does not support DVD playback in those machines. There is no Apple solution. The best you can do is get a third party software solution that uses the processor to decode video (rather than the decoder card) but that is usually pretty poor quality.

    BTW that machine needs a decoder card to play DVD movies in OS 9.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #7
    I already tried third party solutions and as you say they are not of good quality. Actually it used to play without card. I have a previous generation powerbook g3 and that needs the card. this went ok on os9. thanks for your assistance :)
     
  8. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #8
    Then you must have a 400mhz Lombard. Apparently these play videos without decoder cards. :confused:
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Malta
    #9
    You are right. It is a 400Mhz Lombard. It has some hardware decoding thing
     

Share This Page