Powerbook G3 Lombard Advice

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by machappymeal, May 6, 2006.

1. machappymeal macrumors member

I have the opportunity to purchase a G3 Powerbook 333mhz Lombard model very, very cheaply, but I am wondering if it will fulfill my requirements. I just want to surf the net via Ethernet and write a few things on Appleworks. The Powerbook has 9.2.2 installed and I have never used it before (used to 10.1 and above). Is 9.2.2 easy to get on the net with? And what should I use (not sure if firefox would work, what about camino?).

Just wondering if it is worth my while that's all.

Specs are 333mhz
    128mb ram
    4 gig

Thanks for any help

2. igucl macrumors 6502a

igucl

Well, I recently purchased a G3/400 iMac that had 128 megs of RAM. It was working well, except that it was in desperate need of RAM. I added 512, and now it hums along happily.

I put Panther on it. I also don't know anything about 9. I can tell you that my G3/400 with 640 RAM is more than adequate for your stated requirements. The G3 is still a more than valid option for basic computing. And I wouldn't expect that 333 to be significantly less effective. The first thing I would do, though, is get more RAM.

3. macEfan macrumors 65816

macEfan

Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    if you add more ram, you can run OS X well.... for web browsing and appleworks, that machine is fine for you... How much is very very cheap :D

4. RacerX macrumors 65832

This hardware should actually be okay for that type of thing. More memory and a larger hard drive would be better, but as a starting point this should be fine.

There is no version of Firefox or Camino for Mac OS 9... in fact, browsing in Pre-Mac OS X systems is getting harder to do these days.