Powerbook G3 Lombard Advice

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by machappymeal, May 6, 2006.

1. machappymeal macrumors member

Apr 26, 2006
    I have the opportunity to purchase a G3 Powerbook 333mhz Lombard model very, very cheaply, but I am wondering if it will fulfill my requirements. I just want to surf the net via Ethernet and write a few things on Appleworks. The Powerbook has 9.2.2 installed and I have never used it before (used to 10.1 and above). Is 9.2.2 easy to get on the net with? And what should I use (not sure if firefox would work, what about camino?).

Just wondering if it is worth my while that's all.

Specs are 333mhz
    128mb ram
    4 gig

Thanks for any help
  2. igucl macrumors 6502a

Oct 11, 2003
    Well, I recently purchased a G3/400 iMac that had 128 megs of RAM. It was working well, except that it was in desperate need of RAM. I added 512, and now it hums along happily.

I put Panther on it. I also don't know anything about 9. I can tell you that my G3/400 with 640 RAM is more than adequate for your stated requirements. The G3 is still a more than valid option for basic computing. And I wouldn't expect that 333 to be significantly less effective. The first thing I would do, though, is get more RAM.
  3. macEfan macrumors 65816

Apr 7, 2005
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    if you add more ram, you can run OS X well.... for web browsing and appleworks, that machine is fine for you... How much is very very cheap :D
  4. RacerX macrumors 65832

Aug 2, 2004
    This hardware should actually be okay for that type of thing. More memory and a larger hard drive would be better, but as a starting point this should be fine.

There is no version of Firefox or Camino for Mac OS 9... in fact, browsing in Pre-Mac OS X systems is getting harder to do these days.