Powerbook G3 Lombard Processor

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by kzg, Oct 2, 2005.

  1. kzg
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    I've recently received a Powerbook G3 Lombard with a 333Mhz processor, I also have acessor to a 400mhz processor from a Pismo. Does anyone know wether or not i can upgrade the lombard with the pismo processor?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    tdhurst

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    Uh..

    Even if you could, would it be worth it to take apart a full functional computer for a 67mhz upgrade?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #3
    Cannot be done.

    Lombards and Pismo's cannot interchange CPU modules.
     
  4. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #4
    Not commenting on if you could or couldn't use a Pismo processor in a Lombard (that has already been spoke to), but taking apart any PowerBook G3 is not a big task (to get access to the processor, memory and hard drive).

    The basic design of these systems (in terms of accessibility) are radically different from any PowerBook/iBook systems Apple has ever made. They are very easy to service.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Why not? They both use PowerPC 750 processors - isn't it technically possible, but not practical? Or am I failing to take different cache sizes and whatnot into account? :eek:
     

Share This Page