POWERBOOK g4 1.67 RAM HELP

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by nclowram00, Mar 7, 2010.

  1. nclowram00
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #1
    OK I GOT A POWERBOOK g4 1.67 AND ONLY THE UPPER MEMORY SLOT WORKS WHAT WOULD I HAVE TO GET TO REPLACE IT WHERE BOTH WILL WORK AND HOW MUCH SOMETHING LIKE THAT WILL RUN ON GETTING FIX? THANK FOR ANY HELP
     
  2. primalman
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    at the end of the hall
    #2
    New logic board, have no idea cost, ask a repair shop that is an authorized repair center or take to an Apple store.
     
  3. r.j.s
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Missouri
    #3
    It would probably be too expensive to fix ... I think you have to replace the entire logic board.

    You can check iFixit.com for prices.
     
  4. iThinkergoiMac
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Location:
    Terra
    #4
    I've actually done this. This is a common problem for PBG4s. The fix is to replace the whole logic board. I got one for about $175 off of eBay. I found the fix to be relatively easy, though I'm pretty good with these things.

    Oddly enough, I've actually got a 1.67 GHz board for a 15" PBG4 that I've been meaning to put up on eBay but haven't gotten around to doing it yet... I'd be willing to sell it to you, PM me if you're interested.
     
  5. nclowram00
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
  6. puckhead193
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    the whole logic board needs to be replaced. Happened on my pb; not fun
     
  7. capacity
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    #7
    I have nothing to add other than:

    1) Replacing the logic board is not that hard. There are step-by-step manuals out there, but I can't remember which one I used.

    2) Don't forget to fix the caps lock key, too. :p
     

Share This Page