PowerBook G4 (hi-res) 4GB RAM - possible?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by krestfallen, Nov 3, 2006.

  1. macrumors member

    krestfallen

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #1
    Hi...

    I just got a strange idea. I thought of putting 4GB RAM into my PB. Is this really possible?

    Would be nice if the older PB can handle 4 gig and the MBP not ;)
     
  2. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    Yes, you can put 4GB into the PB.

    But it won't recognize it.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    krestfallen

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    #3
    do you know what's max possible?
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    juribed

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    #4
    I tried

    I have a Powerbook G4 1.67 Ghz, this machine use DDR2 533 SODIMM Memory. I just bought from Kingston 2 pieces of Ram Memory with 2 GB each (KVR533D2S4/2G).

    If I install just one SODIMM the Powerbook recognize 2 GB on Ram. But if I install the 2 pieces of Ram Memory the Powerbook doesnt start up. Just receive a strange sound and a white led on and off.

    If I install one 2 GB SODIMM with any other (512 MB or 1 GB) SODIMM I have the same. My Powerbook doesnt start up.

    So I leve just one piece of SODIMM with 2 GB. Is there any way to make my powerbook to recognize 2 pieces of 2 GB ??

    Regards
     
  5. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    No. It is a hardware limitation of the motherboard. Never has and never will support more than 2 GB. The 1 x 2 GB SODIMM configuration I would not assume would be stable.

    Shoulda checked before buying the 2 GB modules.
     

Share This Page