PowerBook G4 Now? New media student

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by meanpeoplesuck, Aug 28, 2006.

1. meanpeoplesuck macrumors member

Sorry for making another "what should I buy" thread. I wondered if I should post for help, but after searching I couldn't find an answer.

I'm starting a 1 year media course in a college of further education soon, which covers things like video editing, graphic design and print journalism. After this 1 year, if I enjoy it, I could go on to a degree course, but none of this is garaunteed.

Taking this into account, what would you think of buying maybe a PowerBook G4 (or an iBook?) now to get me through the next year or 2, and then assessing my situation as to exactly what computer I would need for the following few years of a degree. It may turn out I end up in journalism and don't need a powerful laptop, so I'm wary of buying something too poweful right now, lest it go to waste...

I'm a beginner and this course is catered to beginners just leaving secondary school (high school?), so I imagine a large enough portion of the year will be learning how to use all this different software and then putting it into practice. I don't need the power associated with being a "pro" working with HD video just yet then.

I suppose I was hoping to get something for around 700 euro used, baring in mind that the Irish Apple Refurb store never has anything in it.

Thoughts, Opinions?

2. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

MIDI_EVIL

To be honest, i think you will get away with a PowerBook.

I just graduated from a Video course, and i used my PowerBook for the last 18 months. It was ample!

If you look hard enough, i'm sure you will find a great price as the G4 chip is outdated now and people want Intel. Then again, be careful not go spend too much as MacBooks are very nicely priced.