Powerbook G4 Overclocking... currently at 1.58ghz

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by greenlightracer, Jun 8, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #1
    Hey, new to these forums but I am not a nooB. Before I start, I'd like to mention I'm CET certified and I worked as an apple tech in high school. (Just saying to avoid the flames)

    Here is the deal. I bought my 1.5 Ghz 15" Powerbook used last august. It's a a1095 model (bluetooth 1.1), and upon buying it I immediately upgraded the hard drive (to a 5400rpm 100gb toshiba with 16mb of cache), the ram (I bought one 512 module) and bought 10.4 and installed it on the new hard drive. Sometime after, I noticed "About this Mac" and Apple system profiler both reported my machine as 1.58 ghz. I tried to research why this would be but I have found no answers. Now its time to upgrade the computer again, I would like to research this as much as possible.

    I found one other thread about this on another web site, but it came up dead. I'm including the screen shots for proof. The only other speed enhancement I have made has been overclocking the Mobility Radeon 9700 by 40%. I'm including the screen shot of that as well.

    By my calculations, I would have to be running at a bus multipler of 9.5. If this is normal, please let me know. I would have guessed most "normal" 1.5 ghz G4's would be running 9x (167 x 9 - 1506 ish)

    Lastly, I'm completely disassembling the computer soon to replace case parts so if there is any interest I can take pics of the motherboard (if it would help to solve the mystery). Oh, and since sept 2006, with the 40% gpu overclock as well, the machine operates rock solidly. Here's the eye candy:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
  3. macrumors regular

    AutumnSkyline

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    #3
    You might want to get rid of the serial number : )
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    Why would I need to get rid of the serial number? That was the information I found before... but it really doesnt say much.

    I dug up some old xBench scores I was running at the time:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Kinda makes it more puzzling though since this shows it happened after I upgraded everything. Maybe it was after I overclocked the GPU..
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Dustman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    #5
    off topic, and a completely n00b question, but what harm can come of showing the serial number? is it prohibited by apple or something?

    Edit: lol greenlightracer beat me to it.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    People can probably use your serial number to answer questions to potential buyers on eBay.

    That is the only reason I can think of.
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    #7
    It's also used for warranty purposes by Apple. When my friend's PB battery died prematurely he called them up and got a new one over the phone. The only thing they asked was the serial number. This was some years ago.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    Will this work on a mbp?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #9
    well im going to say most definitely no it won't work lol. bbut who knows... I'm still not sure how exactly I did it:(
     

Share This Page