Powerbook G4 Overclocking... currently at 1.58ghz

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by greenlightracer, Jun 8, 2007.

1. macrumors member

Jun 8, 2007
    Hey, new to these forums but I am not a nooB. Before I start, I'd like to mention I'm CET certified and I worked as an apple tech in high school. (Just saying to avoid the flames)

Here is the deal. I bought my 1.5 Ghz 15" Powerbook used last august. It's a a1095 model (bluetooth 1.1), and upon buying it I immediately upgraded the hard drive (to a 5400rpm 100gb toshiba with 16mb of cache), the ram (I bought one 512 module) and bought 10.4 and installed it on the new hard drive. Sometime after, I noticed "About this Mac" and Apple system profiler both reported my machine as 1.58 ghz. I tried to research why this would be but I have found no answers. Now its time to upgrade the computer again, I would like to research this as much as possible.

I found one other thread about this on another web site, but it came up dead. I'm including the screen shots for proof. The only other speed enhancement I have made has been overclocking the Mobility Radeon 9700 by 40%. I'm including the screen shot of that as well.

By my calculations, I would have to be running at a bus multipler of 9.5. If this is normal, please let me know. I would have guessed most "normal" 1.5 ghz G4's would be running 9x (167 x 9 - 1506 ish)

Lastly, I'm completely disassembling the computer soon to replace case parts so if there is any interest I can take pics of the motherboard (if it would help to solve the mystery). Oh, and since sept 2006, with the 40% gpu overclock as well, the machine operates rock solidly. Here's the eye candy:

2. Moderator emeritus

Jan 9, 2004
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  3. macrumors regular

Oct 5, 2006
    You might want to get rid of the serial number : )
  4. thread starter macrumors member

Jun 8, 2007