Powerbook G4 owners... does this happen to you?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by nataku, Jun 19, 2005.

  1. nataku macrumors regular

    nataku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    The Demilitarized Zone
    #1
    hey there. im new to mac. i just love it. thank god i switched. just one question... i own a powerbook g4 with 1.67Ghz processor with the ati mobility radeon 9700... how come i dont see the ripple effect when i drop a widget? doesn't the graphics chip support core image? thanks guys. this has been driving me crazy for the past few days. :confused:
     
  2. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #2
    I get it with the powerbook in my sig. I think you should to.
     
  3. jnicolso1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide
    #3
    I get the ripple and I have the same machine as you
     
  4. nataku thread starter macrumors regular

    nataku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    The Demilitarized Zone
    #4
    damn. is there anything that i should do? maybe something in the settings that i turned off or something? thanks guys.
     
  5. Applespider macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #5
    It should be supported. Go and have a look in System Profiler under Graphics/Display and it should say CoreImage supported.

    Incidentally, you only see the ripple when you drop a widget from the widget bar to the desktop. You won't see it moving widgets around the desktop and if you click on the widget as soon as you drop it, you cancel the ripple effect and start loading the widget instead.

    If either of the above don't happen, you probably want to call Apple in case there's a problem with your card.
     
  6. DJY macrumors 6502a

    DJY

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Location:
    Canberra AUST
    #6
    My Powerbook is older than yours (see my sig), and I only have the standard video card...
    so yes it should work.

    Try dropping a couple of widgets from the widget bar onto your desktop again... then if no luck I'd be taking it back to where you bought it!
     
  7. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #7
    its a long shot but could you be accidentally clicking the mouse once you drop it? because that stops the ripple effect.
     
  8. nataku thread starter macrumors regular

    nataku

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Location:
    The Demilitarized Zone
    #8
    thanks guys! its working now... weird enough... all because of a reebot. :eek: thanks bunch fellas!
     

Share This Page