PowerBook G4... powered enough?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by zoran, Oct 24, 2008.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #1
    I have the PowerBook G4 and none of the two USB plugs are powered. Powered enough to power a 2.5"HDD enclosure. The drive needs both USB ports to operate!
    Is there anyone having this laptop that can test it like me so i know if they are powered or not or might this be a enclosure failure!
    Thanx
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #2
    This happens. I have never been able to use my iPod through the USB.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #3
    I can confirm this. Mine will not power an external HD on one USB. Its really frustrating. And since my DVD crapped itself an 8gb USB stick has been my friend ever since....
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #4
    In other words even if i get a Y-cable for my HDD it still just wont do because the 2nd USB port is on the other side, so the cable just wont be able to reach the 2nd port! Right?
     
  5. macrumors 603

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #5
    Yup, or get a Y cable that is long.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    sparkie7

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    #6

    yes, had the same problem. You have to get a USB cable with double head splitter and extn. its a pain, 'cos it wipes out all your USB ports unless you get a USB hub extension
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #7
    is there such a cable?
     
  8. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #8
    How large is your drive? The bigger ones require more power, usually from a second USB port. I'd suggest getting a Firewire enclosure. A must have for PPC Macs ;)
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #9
    Hmm a must have yes... but not easy to connect to other pcs, firewire isnt very common! Anyhow can you recommend me any 2.5" FW enclosures?
    My drive is a PATA 30GB HD!
     
  10. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    Just buy a Firewire enclosure.
     
  11. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #11
    Wow you should definatly have no problem powering that drive via just USB.

    I'd buy this one as I highly recommend it as it's the one that I bought a while ago, but I paid 3 times that price :(. It's USB 2.0 and Firewire. The FW is powered through the FW cable. It also comes with the USB cable and splitter if you need it. Great design and is made out of aluminum so it'll match your powerbook too ;)

    Mini Drive 2.5" Hard Drive Enclosure - Firewire USB 2.0
     
  12. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #12
    Is it USB 1.1 or 2.0?

    And a definite YES to the Firewire drive.
     
  13. macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #13
    I got an enclosure from MacAlley, and while it supports both USB and FW, I think it required that I either use both the USB ports to power it or the enclosed power adapter. FW powers it with no issues.
     
  14. macrumors 603

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #14
    Your other option is to look for an 2.5" enclosure that is powered from the mains.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    #15
    Mains? you mean from the electricity plugs in the house? Thats not very comfy now is it?
     
  16. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #16
    The one I mentioned, I've never had to use the USB splitter for both. I've had a 60gb 7200 drive in mine and just one USB was enough to power it from my iBooks but Firewire is so much better then USB 2.0 on the PowerBooks and iBooks or any other older FW equipped Mac. It also has a 5v input plug if you ever need to power it from an AC adapter which isn't included but I've used others laying around the house and works that way too but I don't think is ever needed (in my situations).
     
  17. macrumors 603

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #17
    Yeah. But if that is not an option for you then go firewire.
     

Share This Page