Powerbook G4 Will not boot Up

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ted124b, Oct 25, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #1
    Hello,
    I have a 1.67 15inch powerbook g4 with 1.5 gig Ram, 100 gig harddrive and the 128mb video card.
    Last night i shut down my computer and for whatever reason i also unplugged ac adaptor. This morning i plugged in the ac adaptor and booted up...I got to the grey screen with apple logo in back and spinning wheel below. The computer will just hang at this screen with the wheel spinning below it for any period of time until i manually restart the computer....

    In an attempt to fix this problem i have performed the following steps
    -reset power PRAM, and NVRAM
    -reset Power manager
    -disconnected all usb/firewire/ext devices

    I have booted from CD and can get to the new os x install screen...
    I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions...closest apple store is in grand rapids, mi my homewtown about two hours awaay... I however am at college and am in desperate need to get my powerbook up and running by the end of the day in order to retrieve and edit a paper...what other steps can i take
    Thanks
    Ted

    Problem solved for now...i did archive and install after all other steps. so now i am just wondering 1 can i put my third party memory back in (kingston ktd-insp5150/1g) have i effectively ruled out this did not cause the problem... also should i delete the folder from the archive install Thank you Ted
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Any third party RAM?

    Try starting it up holding down SHIFT for Safe Mode. See if it gets any further.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #3
    yes 1 gig of ram from kingston i believe...

    Safe mode does not start up...........aprox. how long should i wait at each startup until it is hopeless(ie if i wait 5 minutes at startup and the wheel (progess indicator is still spinning) can i assume that the computer won't boot
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Yeah, if it hasn't reacted in five minutes then you know something's wrong. Take the RAM out and try starting it up again.

    You've tried all the right things so far though. Well done. :)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #5
    i removed the RAM still won't boot up. with the RAM now removed should i back step and reperform all the troubleshooting tasks i have before...should i now reset the power manager, pram nvram ext
    thanks for your help
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #6
    I have ran disk utility and repaired permitions...Still no luck. should i reinstall mac osx?any other suggestions
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #7
    I did archive and install.....it works i am scared to restart though any thoughts on this..... what should i do now to make sure this doesnt occur again? i believe an archive install makes a copy of the old system folder should i delete this ? thanks
    ted
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    #8
    Problem solved for now...i did archive and install after all other steps. so now i am just wondering 1 can i put my third party memory back in (kingston ktd-insp5150/1g) have i effectively ruled out this did not cause the problem... also should i delete the folder from the archive install Thank you Ted


    first restart worked any reason to thik future restarts will not work?
    thanks ted
     
  9. Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #9
    Sorry, I fell asleep on you there. It was getting a bit late for me. :eek: Interpret freely.

    Good to see you've got a solution together. Yes, you pretty much ruled out the RAM because it'd be a very rare case (but still feasible) that removing it wouldn't help. Put it back in, it'll almost certainly be fine.

    As for the previous System Folder, only keep it if you want to scavenge things form it such as other settings. It can otherwise be deleted.

    Hopefully this has completely solved the problem. The only thing wrong is that we still don't quite know how it happened in the first place. It's very rare for OSX to react in that way though, so it's unlikely to reoccur. :)
     

Share This Page