PowerBook G5 DID exist. Here is proof...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by psalesses, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. psalesses macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    #1
    http://www.apple.com/science/profiles/vcu/

    On the right hand side:

    Apple Technology at VCU Department of Radiology

    2 20-inch Intel-based iMacs
    Power Mac G5
    30-inch Apple Cinema Display
    PowerBook G5:confused:
    2 Intel-based Xserves
    Xserve RAID
     
  2. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #2
    I've no doubt that there are prototype G5 PowerBooks knocking about in the bowels of 1 Infinite Loop – but I reckon that this is probably a typo.
     
  3. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
  4. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #4
    Found a pic :p
     

    Attached Files:

  5. xyian macrumors 6502

    xyian

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Location:
    PDX
    #5
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!
     
  6. iW00t macrumors 68040

    iW00t

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Location:
    Defenders of Apple Guild
    #6
    I'd own that fatbook pro than to walk around with a Dell!

    Oh wait... at least with a Dell I get to walk around...
     
  7. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #7
    and by examining this photo, we see that the PowerBook G5 has been available since OS X 10.2 (the wallpaper is telling).
     
  8. EGT macrumors 68000

    EGT

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    #8
    Most likely a typo. At the time of the Intel transition announcement however, Steve himself said they'd tried to get the G5 into a portable enclosure so no doubt there was a "Powerbook G5" of sorts in the Apple labs.

    Probably an ugly brute too. I'm much happier with C2D and soon to be Penryn!G5? HA!
     
  9. shu82 macrumors 6502a

    shu82

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Location:
    Rocket City, AL
    #9
    I love that fatbook pro. Just to have dvd copying and a 2 tb raid server conveniently located in my samsonite luggage. That is definitely a typo, he just figured if everything they used was top of the line, G5 would be in every mac.
     
  10. spork183 macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #10
    I disagree. Clearly, if Apple had working prototype G5 powerbooks, they would have given one or sold one to Virginia CommonWealth University. Nothing screams cutting edge mac test facility like a medical setting where reliability is paramount. So, yeah, I believe. In fact, my local emergency room is chock full of G6 Umax S900 clones.
     
  11. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    You can still get that wallpaper...
     
  12. holamiamigos macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
  13. classof2011 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    Flying with American Airlines
    #13
    Where have I seen that before :confused:
     
  14. vanzskater272 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #14
    That is a typo. If it was not someone would have allready taken pics of it.
     
  15. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #15
    Of course, it existed, but only as prototypes.

    That's just a typo.
     
  16. pianoman macrumors 68000

    pianoman

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    #16
    forgot they were available on all Macs. even so... the machines usually have the wallpaper of the current OS version when they are released.
     
  17. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #17

    Looks just like my 2GHz PowerBook G5! :eek: ;) :cool:
     
  18. puckhead193 macrumors G3

    puckhead193

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    NY
    #18
    well there is macboob :p
     
  19. stevey500 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Huntington, Utah
    #19
    hahaha my common typo always ends up to be "macbooj"
     
  20. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #20
    cutting edge and reliability usually don't co-exist, and i think most industry go with reliability

    i know you are talking sarcasm, but i'm just saying :eek:
     
  21. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #21
    Macbooyakasha! Hear me now.
     
  22. patrick0brien macrumors 68040

    patrick0brien

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    The West Loop
    #22
    -stevey500

    Hmm, I heard that's messy and illegal in most countries.
     

Share This Page