PowerBook Help

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lewie109, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. macrumors member

    lewie109

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    #1
    Hi guys,
    I while a go my iBook died and I went and bought a PowerBook G4 Aluminum. 15 inches, 1.25 ram, 1 gig processor. Mac OS X 10.3.9 I just recived it yesterday delivered by UPS. It was ordered from Macofalltrades.com
    Anyway I have a few questions. Is this suppose to have a blacklit keyboard? I dont see a preference under keyboard and mice for brightness keyboard. Most of the suff on the web say they have a blacklit keyboard. Is there anyway to clean the keyboard becides taking it out? The prevous owner(s) must of had long hair, and they ate around it also. Its really gross looking. I don't want to break keys by tring to clean it. Is there a DVI to VGA monitor converter? I do lots of presentations and my projector doesn't have a DVI port.

    Thanks for the help,
    Lewie
     
  2. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    You should have the backlit keyboard...not sure why you're not seeing the preference for it. I'm not on my PB right now, and I can't remember exactly what it's supposed to look like.

    You can't really remove the PB keyboard...try some compressed air.

    For the projector, you'll need Apple's DVI to VGA adapter...$19.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    MACDRIVE

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Clovis, California
    #3
    Here are the instuctions to remove your keyboard. ifixit

    There are both backlit and non-backlit PB aluminum models.
     
  4. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    The non-backlits are 12"

    They keyboard brightness controls are not a preference in the system, but rather controlled by the F8, F9, and F10 keys. If you have them set to control Exposé instead, you have to hold down Function (fn) as well.

    F8 turns on and off, F9 decreases brightness, and F10 increases.

    It will not allow you to turn it on if the ambient light sensors detect that you don't need it. So shut all your lights off and you should be able to turn it on and adjust it to your liking.
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2006
    #5
    Be careful taking the screws that hold the keyboard to the top case out though, if you don't get them off the first time, they're probably going to end up stripped.
     
  6. macrumors member

    gootz

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #6
    I just checked Mactracker and it looks like the 1.25ghz was the first to have the backlit keyboard.
     
  7. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Really? Weird, I could have sworn both the 15 and 17 had them.

    I know my 1ghz 17 has it. According to EveryMac, the model "lacks ambient light sensors to control display and keyboard illumination", but it doesn't say that it lacks back-lit keyboard alltogether.
     
  8. Sly
    macrumors 6502

    Sly

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Airstrip One
    #8
    Backlit keboards where custom order on the bottom end 15" PB's at the time and standard on the top end 15" and 17". They have never been available on the 12".
     
  9. thread starter macrumors member

    lewie109

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    #9
    Ok thankyou!!!!
     
  10. Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #10
    Yes, you're right...found the specs. The entry-level 1 GHz 15-incher had the backlit keyboard as a BTO option. It was standard in the 1.25 GHz model.

    Thanks for clearing that up!
     
  11. thread starter macrumors member

    lewie109

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Iowa
    #11
    Ok now I have a problem now. I upgraded to Tiger (bought from Apple.) I now can't play DVDs When I was running Panther I could pop in a DVD and the DVD Player started up and now when I put in a DVD It mounts on the desktop and now I can't even find the DVD Player.

    Thanks for your help,
    Darrin
     
  12. macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #12
    You might want to start a new thread when changing subjects so more people are enticed to help you.
     

Share This Page