Powerbook Internal Mic Not Functioning

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DinoAdventure, May 13, 2005.

  1. macrumors member

    DinoAdventure

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    #1
    I just got a 15" Powerbook G4 Superdrive, and I can't seem to make the internal mic work. I select it has the desired audio device under System Preferences, but both Logic Express and Garage Band just record static. Any suggestions? I just got it yesterday, it is my first mac and I'm having a lot of fun with it, but I hope I won't need to send it out for repair. I was going to call apple but I figured I might as well try a forum first.

    Thanks a bundle.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #2
    Perhaps it's a problem with the powerbook.
    Under System Prefrences-->Sound-->Input (select Internal Microphone) you should see the meeter move when you type or move your finger over the microphone.


    Another check, rerout the audio with SoundFlower, and see if you can port it somewhere else.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #3
    sounds like solid advice.
    Having sound problems? go to system prefs>sound !
    Yes Macs can be as simple as that!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    DinoAdventure

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    #4
    Yeah, it must be a problem with my powerbook. The lines never move, even when I run my finger over the mic. I guess I'll call apple tommorow and see what they say.

    Thanks
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #5
    even adjusting the volume setting under them?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. thread starter macrumors member

    DinoAdventure

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    #6
    Yep, that has no effect. When I first got it (last night) the first 3 lines would be constantly jumping up and down causing static, but now I have no lines and no static. I hope I don't have to send it out for repair, seeing how I just got it and all. That would be a shame. Maybe I can make the trek to the nearest apple store and see if they'll fix it... guess I'll just have to wait and see on tommorow.
     

Share This Page