Powerbook Memory

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by pcproff, Apr 23, 2005.

  1. pcproff macrumors member

    pcproff

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale,FL.
    #1
    Ok! I have finally decieded I am going to add more memory to my powerbook for its one yr purchase date. I want to add one gig. Which company should I go with? Should I have an Apple store install it? Will it void my warranty? How hard is it to install on a powerbook?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    > I want to add one gig.

    Good decision

    > Which company should I go with?

    Choose a reputable seller that offers a lifetime warranty, tests and guaranteed compatibility with your model Mac. I like http://www.datamem.com

    > Should I have an Apple store install it?

    No

    > Will it void my warranty?

    No, unless you do something really stupid and damage the machine yourself. If you aren't confident, then have a tech install it.

    > How hard is it to install on a powerbook?

    Easy. Depending on your model it is either under the keyboard or under a hatch on the bottom of the machine. Jeweller's Phillips screwdriver needed. Take-apart instructions are available in your user's manual or online at apple.com and elsewhere.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  3. Erendiox macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #3
    More ram is always good! :cool:

    No, it won't void the warranty. Just don't break anything :p . It shouldn't be terribly difficult. Installing ram is just about the easiest task that involves opening your computer.

    and i've heard great things about www.crucual.com
     
  4. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #4
    newegg

    here is a good price on ram link. Read the reviews.

    Nuc
     
  5. S14-Racer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    #5
    Nuc, that is the exact stick I have had in my new 15" powerbook since the day I got it on the 8th... I had it overnighted so it would get here the day I picked up my powerbook. It has worked flawlessly, btw...

    Anyway, the install was easy, just take a #0 phillips and remove the 4 screws holding the access panel in place. I noticed they had blue loctite on the screws, so if you use a bit of downward pressure while twisting, you will be less likely to damage the head in any manner.

    One thing with ram is that it always takes a bit more effort to seat into the slot then one thinks. This being my first powerbook, and notebook I didnt want to damage it by pushing the ram into the slot with to much force.. It didnt seem to be seating so I removed the lower 512mb stick to see how much force was needed to remove it. Then I placed the 1gig stick into the lower slot, using more force, and all was well. Then I placed the 512 stick in the top slot, as this config would save me the hassle of removing both sticks again if I ever wanted to up to 2 gigs.
     

Share This Page