PowerBook - No QE/CI

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by nylock10, Dec 27, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #1
    Hi,

    A friend of mine recently got a 2001 PowerBook Titanium, 400MHz PowerPC, 512MB RAM.

    The laptop wouldn't boot the operating system, it wouldn't get past the Apple logo boot screen.

    So it bought a Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger DVD from Craig's List and installed.

    Everything seems fine except this: In System Profiler, it says there is no Quartz Extreme / Core Image support.

    How can he fix this?

    Attached is a photo.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #2
    He can't. The graphics card in his ti-book does not support core image or quartz extreme. The graphics card is not upgradable, so he's pretty much stuck.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    #3
    What? No video support?

    There has to be something..
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #4
    There's still video support... it's just that some of OS X's visual effects will be disabled or function slower.

    Here's a wikipedia article on core image: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Core_Image

    and one on quartz extreme: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quartz_Extreme

    The wiki articles explain just what quartz extreme and core image do and what your friend is missing by not having a supported graphics card.

    Remember that the 400mhz model powerbook was introduced in 2001. It's pretty amazing that a 6 year old laptop can run the most recent version of OS X, however expecting it to be able to support all of OS X's eye candy is unrealistic.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Maxwell Smart

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    #5
    Yeah, your friends powerbook unfortunately doesn't have a graphics chip capable of QE/CI. Not surprising considering a good number of apple's laptops don't have CI support going beyond 2 years ago. He could upgrade the logic board to a 550Mhz or 667Mhz VGA board, but it would probably be more trouble then it's worth unfortunately.
     

Share This Page