PowerBook Price Info

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by BalladBeach24, Jul 17, 2002.

1. BalladBeach24 macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,
    I'm new to this forum, and in all honesty, I'm new to the Mac. I'm working at CompUSA, and have the chance to buy a TiBook, 400mhz. However, it has a cracked screen. We can add a new screen to it, that's not a problem. My question is, how much should I offer them for the PowerBook???? It's new, but, like I said, has the cracked screen. Let me know what you think. It'd be greatly appreciated!

Brian

P.S. I don't even know if this question is even in the right part of the forum. If it isn't, I apologize. Like I said, I'm totally new to this forum, and the Mac.

2. AlphaTech macrumors 601

AlphaTech

Unless it has a seriously upgraded hard drive, and maxed out RAM (1GB), don't offer any more then $1200. PowerMax is listing a PB G4 400MHz at just under $1500, and that is a factory refurbished model. Since you are talking about getting it from incompusa, stay with the $1200 max.

Who will be replacing the screen??? Is there any warranty with it (that is worth a damn at least)??

3. BalladBeach24 thread starter macrumors newbie

I'll probably buy the compusa warranty on it, since they cover broken screens. but, it's $369, ($499 if the price is over $1500)... but the thing is that i have to wait 30 days for them to replace the screen. why this is, i still don't know... i work there, and they still can't tell me why it's like that.

Brian

4. AlphaTech macrumors 601

AlphaTech