PowerBook RAM

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DavidP, Oct 19, 2005.

  1. DavidP macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #1
    Should I have Apple install extra RAM (2GB) in my new PB
    or should I just buy third-party RAM and install it myself?
     
  2. tekmoe macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    #2
    buy some from crucial and install it yourself. very easy to install and will not void your warranty as it is a user installable part.
     
  3. twinsen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    The new HD 15 and 17 Powerbooks use DDR-2 SODIMMs, a different type of RAM from prior Powerbooks (and from the 12")

    Recommend that you get your RAM from a reputable seller who guarantees compatibility with your specific Mac model, offers a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

    If you are in the USA, I recommend Data Memory Systems, www.datamem.com. Your best bet is to call them, as their online store won't have the information up on the new machines yet. (Crucial doesn't have theirs updated either)

    Just for fun, get out a stopwatch and time how long it takes to get a Mac memory expert on the line.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    That meets the general specs, although Corsair does not guarantee compatibility of any of their Value Select series for Macintosh, so it is up in the air whether it will or not.
     
  6. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #6
    I would wait for a couple of weeks before ordering 3rd party RAM. None of the manufacturers will be able to guarantee that their RAM will work in the PB, since they won't have been able to test it yet.

    It may turn out that the new PBs are less fussy than the previous revisions about the RAM they can take so you may not have to buy guaranteed RAM, but until someone tests this out, there's not much you can do but wait.

    If I were you I would be tempted to pay Apple the extra $200 to bump up to a single 1GB RAM module, then get another cheaper 1GB in a few weeks.
     
  7. DavidP thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    #7
    PowerBook RAM

    Which suppliers have provided the highest quality RAM for PowerBooks?
     
  8. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #8
    That question cannot be answered on a brand-basis

    The two largest companies are Kingston and Crucial - their memory is good IF and ONLY IF you buy the models that are specific to your Mac. The brand name is no guarantee of compatibility if you buy the generic modules that are offered by discounters.

    Samsung memory is popular because Apple uses primarily Samsung 1 Gb modules in the Powerbooks (they use Samsung and other brands for the 256 and 512 Mb sizes). Since Samsung does not sell direct, you can buy them from a number of online and storefront sellers. There are also very good modules made by Infineon, Micron and Siemens, which are sold by memory merchants. Again, it has to be the RIGHT module for your Mac.

    The key is to choose a reputable seller who tests and guarantees compatibility of their RAM in Macs, and backs that up with a lifetime warranty and a no-cost return if it doesn't work. As long as you get the right compatibility, there is no performance difference between brands.

    Thanks
    Trevor
    CanadaRAM.com
     
  9. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #9
  10. Greenone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    #10
    Trevor -
    Datamem has everything you require to buy ram (reputable, lifetime, guaranteed to fit the new PB, etc.)?
     
  11. cepler macrumors member

    cepler

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #11
    I put 2 Kingston KVR533D2S4/1G modules in my new 15" PB and no problems here. Running 2 gig now. Heres a link to the NewEgg part I used:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820144183

    $180 vs. $500 from Apple, you decide...

    This memory is pretty standard, there are not many manufacturers of DDR2 chips at this time and the specs are pretty much all the same, 4-4-4-12 or 11.
     
  12. mikelao macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    #12
    hey guys, i bought the new 15" powerbook and i am planning to upgrade the RAM. since it has 512MB ram internally, can i get a 1GB ram so i can upgrade it to 1.5GB ram? or do they have to be in pairs? (e.g. 2x512MB, 2x1GB)

    thanks!
     
  13. Greenone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    #13
    Yes you can - no they don't have to be in pairs.
     
  14. lieb39 macrumors 6502

    lieb39

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #14
    That's what I'm planning to do :) 1.5GB all the way

    -lieb39
     

Share This Page