powerbook screen span question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by e.m., Sep 25, 2005.

  1. e.m. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    Hello. I have a question that hopefully someone can answer.

    Are the powerbooks able to dual monitor span between an external monitor and the powerbook screen? Or do I need two external monitors?

    Thanks in advance for your replies.
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    The PowerBooks span between their own inbuilt screen and a second (external) screen.

    I can't imagine it'd be all that possible/easy to span between two external screens with a PowerBook though. :)
     
  3. e.m. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3

    Nice. So all I need is one external monitor.

    Sorry if this is an obivous question, but why is it hard to span between two externals with a Powerbook?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Yeah, you only need one. :)

    Doing it with two would require some sort of adaptor or something to be able to plug the second external (third in total) display into AFAIK. I'm not sure that it's possible but I could be wrong.
     
  5. e.m. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    I see. Thanks for the info. I was hoping all I need is one external monitor, so that works great.
     
  6. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    You can add support for a 2nd external monitor using the 15"17" PowerBooks PCMCIA slot: http://www.villagetronic.com/e_pr_vtbook.html
     
  7. e.m. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    Cool, it's good to know that the option is there in the future.
     

Share This Page