Powerbook size

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by iKenny, Jul 22, 2004.

1. iKenny macrumors member

I'm heading off to school next year and am getting a PowerBook to take. I have the option of either a 12in or 15in PowerBook, and, surprising though it may seem, I'm having a little trouble deciding. I like the bigger screen and power of the 15in, but the 12in is much easier to carry, and quite frankly I think the lid feels more solid (the 15in has a larger space between the lid and the keyboard).

I'm not sure how much I"ll be carrying around the PowerBook.

Do you guys think I should go with 15in or 12in?

2. Nspace macrumors regular

I think it depends on what your doing. I bought the 15" because I am majoring in design, so screen size and a higher resolution (although i still think they should have increased this) was important.

If you are going to be doing just browsing, email, and word processing and that sort of thing, I think you would be fine with the 12" and you would get the better portability for taking it to your classes. Down the road you could use some of the money you saved and look at an external monitor for when your not on the road.

3. smurfsgonewild macrumors member

I was in the same boat. I decided to go with the 15" just because I wanted the bigger size. I could have lived with the 12" but I just wanted to have that extra real estate. This computer's gotta last me for 4 or 5 years and I thought that I would have gotten tired of the small size. Plus, I wouldn't have had the room or money for an external monitor. Another reason is that I'm a pretty big guy so it might have been akward using a small computer for a long period of time. I hope this helps and good luck with your decision. It's pretty nerveracking isn't it?

4. sundevil macrumors newbie

The tradeoffs between the 12" and 15" are basically performance, size, and price.