Powerbook titanium Can I do this

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by IDANNY, Jan 17, 2004.

  1. IDANNY macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #1
    I have 2 powerbooks titanuim. I have 1gb sdram memory in one that is 500 mhz and one with 512 mb sdram that has 667 mhz. I want to know if I could put all the memory in the 667mhz one because it also has a combo drive the 500mhz only has a normal drive. Is it possible.
     
  2. TEG macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    It will work only if the memory in the 500 is PC133, required by the 667, otherwise it will not work. The best way to find out is either through System Profiler, or looking on the memory itself, because it will have a sticker saying weither or not it is PC100 or PC133.

    TEG
     
  3. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    A lot of PC100 RAM will still run at 133 mhz. If I were you, I'd first do what the previous poster stated (check to see the markings on the stick of memory). If it says 133, you're golden. If not, I would actually put the PC100 stick into the 667 mhz book. The WORST that will happen is that it will crash or be unstable. If that's the case, take the stick out and you're good to go. I have a lot of experience with overclocking PCs and such so i'm telling you from experience. Good luck!
     
  4. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #4
    it might work, but you will most likely effectively reduce the speed of your bus to 100mhz. unless you really need more ram, this will probably slow your computer down in all but the most memory intensive applications.

    but, according to this apple article:
     
  5. spaceballl macrumors 68030

    spaceballl

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #5
    idkew's information is false, actually.

    Your computer runs at 667 mhz. That is a 133 mhz front side bus with a multiplier of 5. (do the math: 133.33333 x 5). Your processor is hardwired to run at this speed. Regardless of what speed memory you put into the powerbook, it will still run at 133 x 5. If you put PC166 memory which is specicifed to run at 166 mhz, because your bus is at 133 mhz, it will run at 133 mhz.

    the PCXXX number is just a specification. Memory manufacturers make memory and they test it at various speeds. If the memory runs at 133 mhz, they slap a PC133 label on it. If the memory runs at 166 mhz, they slap a PC166 label on it. However, often their settings are very conservative and memory can run faster than it is specified for. If it does not work, your computer will crash. That's it. Your computer WILL NOT slow down, however. That is completely false.
     
  6. IDANNY thread starter macrumors 6502a

    IDANNY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Location:
    Las vegas
    #6
    Thanks so much

    THat helped
    I think I will try to move the memory if it is the rite kind .
     

Share This Page