PowerBook to 42" Plasma ?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by liketom, Jul 5, 2005.

  1. macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #1
    well i am at work and i have a man round my house installing a 42" Hitachi plasma screen with a Hardon Kardon surround sound

    anyway

    you all know what i want to do with it ! POWERBOOK to PLASMA

    DVI on PowerBook and DVI on Plasma


    what do i need to know ? what sort of screen res can i get ?

    Pictures will be posted when i get it working
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    It'll probably let you go to 1920 x 1080, but there's not a 1920 x 1080 native plasma on the planet. I'd suggest 1280 x 720, especially if it's a 1024 x 768 w/ stretched pixels plasma display. It might also suggest a 13something by something else mode, which could be its native res, depending on the quality of the display.
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #3
    It should look pretty awesome on there. I've tried my 12" Powerbook on a Plasma screen w/ the DVI port and it was impressive :)

    To get it to work, just plug in, and you may have to hit the "Fn" + "F7" keys on your keyboard at the same time to mirror the image. That's it!
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #4
    Good will try that

    does Mac OS X look good on a Plasma ? or does it look out of this world lol
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #5
    i would of got stuck on the Fn+F7 keys aswell lol

    thanks for the tip
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Yebot

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #7
    I really think it will just be plug-n-play, though, it will probably take some time to find the proper resolution (unstretched). Either way, it will no doubt be impressive.

    I can't wait to see the pictures!
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #8
    just phoned home and the Plasma is mounted on the wall and the chap is setting up my surround sound -

    i asked the mrs what it looks like and she just said BIG lol

    but as always women are not really intrested in TV's lol
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #9
    I have been wondering about this awesome. My dad is obsessed with getting a plasma, and when I heard that the one he was looking at had DVI ports, my eyes lit up. Thanks for the info fellas, I will definately be trying this as soon as the TV gets installed in the living room...
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #10
    ok Plasma is all in and looking stunning -

    but i got all giddy with the thought of mac os being on the screen i seemed to overlook the fact i have not got a DVI cable - oops

    so i'm off to the shops today in my lunch hour to buy the longest DVI cable i can afford so Pictures tonight

    :)
     
  11. macrumors G4

    Applespider

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Location:
    looking through rose-tinted spectacles...
    #11
    John Lewis in Oxford St had a Mac Mini running OS X and iTunes on a 42" plasma... but they obviously hadn't spent any time tweaking it or figuring out the best resolution. I nearly caused a pile up at the top of the escalator when I spotted it and had to reverse...
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #12
    Here it is

    well after lots of issues with my surrond sound not being wired proper i have finally got some shots of the little beast !!
     
  13. macrumors member

    theonenonlyjoey

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
  14. macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    Not the right one, judging by those photos. Ew! Get the correct screen shape, please! It's all stretched.
     
  15. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #15
    I'd say that he's got it set on 1024x768 since that's the native resolution for all 42" HDTV plasmas on the market right now, with the exception of the ALiS interlaced panels. Although many Hitachis have the ALiS panels.

    Anyways, liketom could try using SwitchResX or DisplayConfigX to get a better resolution, such as 1280x720 (aka 720p) or 1280x768. The plasma should be able to take that resolution and scale it. The text may be a little fuzzy (since the pixels are rectangular), but it'll be usable.

    If it does turn out to be an ALiS panel, I don't know what your options are.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #16
    k

    one day ! one damn day i will be able to afford that set up !
    thats what i keep telling myself anyway but thats looks stunning geezer
    now to rob a bank ;)
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2000
    Location:
    54140
    #17
    It's looking good!

    Seems like a pretty seamless plug-n-play system. Can't wait to see pics of proper screen resolution!
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    #18
    Isn't there a pretty significant risk of burned-in images with plasma?
     
  19. Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
    #19
    I'm not disputing that native resolution, but what would possess a manufacturer to produce an HDTV display that does not support the HD aspect ratio: 16:9 (or 1.78:1)? 1024x768 is only 4:3 (or 1.33:1).
     
  20. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #20
    The reason that plasma manufacturers make screens with 1024x768 resolutions is that they don't have the ability to create pixels that small in the Horizontal direction. So what they do is make the pixel rectangular. The human eye can't resolve detail in the horizontal as well as it can in the vertical direction. That's why even with the rectangular pixels, HD on 16:9 1024x768 screens look great.

    Right now, only 50" plasmas use square pixels in a 16:9ish ratio. Usually, 50" screens are built at 1280x768 or 1366x768.
     
  21. macrumors 601

    ftaok

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    East Coast
    #21
    That pretty much is a thing of the past. The manufacturers have gotten so good with different manufacturing and operating techniques, that you really don't have to worry too much about burn in.

    What you do have to do is keep the brightness and contrast down during the 1st 1000 hours of use. You also don't want to have the letterbox (or pillarbox) bars on for an extended period of time during the break-in period. Another thing you don't want to do is leave a static image on the screen for too long, which is exactly what a computer might do. So if I were to use a Mac with a plasma, I would set the screen saver to come on after a minute or so. I would also use a screen saver that changed the screen often (probably a picture slide show). And I wouldn't use an application on too long, otherwise the menu bar might cause problems.
     

Share This Page