Powerbooks are my Nightmare!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by carbonmotion, Feb 10, 2004.

1. carbonmotion macrumors 6502a

carbonmotion

I'm a student at the University of Michigan and I've been having problems with my laptop life. Right now I'm using my friend 's 12" 867mhz G4 powerbook as a loaner until I can buy mine... he doesn't use a computer for college (yeah, I don't know how either) ...To me it kinda feels like my VW '01 Jetta VR6... Nice product, but enough minor issues for the aggressive user to notice (Although I am not an aggressive user of my Jetta, I drive it once a week, if that)... like the case of the 867 12" Powerbook getting hot when you use firewire transfer. Well, anyways, last night I get a call from guess who? Yes, my good friend who's like "dude, you gotta stop bumming my computer, I need it now." Ok, reality check, I need to buy a brand new powerbook ... first I look at the 12" and I read some messageboards... old problems are gone! So I'm like, SWEET! And the battery life is pretty good... but then I see the Powerbook 15" and I think to my self, poop...I want that! But message boards are saying that its got some production issues as well as some battery issues. I read many posts where under normal usage people are only getting 1:40! That to me is far below acceptable as I need it to last 3:30-4hrs (an entire Sociology Lecture) (don't recommend that I get a iBook, I need display extenstion like I need water) ...ok after calculating the student discounts it feels like both are within my finacial striking range ...the 12"powerbook and the 15" 1ghz powerbook... I also need one yesterday as my friend is about to kill me because I have been using his 867 for almost a month now... As far as screen real estate goes, 15" would be optimal for me, but I can life with a 12" inch. I do alot of photoshop and go live as well as Flash stuff (although i'm not poweruser) I also play quake 3 alot , but both machines c