powermac b&w and apple studio display

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by federalists, Nov 16, 2004.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    #1
    i just recently bought an old b&w and a studio display. neither have arrived yet. i'm wondering if i'm going to be able to use the adc display with the b&w. if not, what would i have to updgrade on the b&w to make it possible? would a new video card do the trick?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    #2
    bump!
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    #3
    In short, no. The B&W G3 is PCI graphics, and ADC video cards are only available in the AGP variety. As such, you're euchred.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    #4
    well, what about a dvi card and the dvi -> adc converter? anyone tried this setup? and does anyone know where i can get a good deal on a radeon 7000 (with dvi) if this works?
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    #5
  6. macrumors 6502

    stephenli

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    #6
    my AGP G4 does not have ADC port, so I bought a GForce4Ti (cannot find other cards available, pity....$$$) with DVI and ADC port.
    So, the ADC port does not work because power supply to the card is not sufficient, so my solution is DVI port + DVI - ADC converter.
     

Share This Page