PowerMac G4 450Mhz AGP Graphics Freaking Out

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by macervantes, May 27, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #1
    First of all here are the specs i was able to pull before the incident.

    Machine Name: Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics)
    Machine Model: PowerMac3,1
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.7)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 450 MHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
    Memory: 1.5 GB
    Bus Speed: 100 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 3.1.3f1

    Here is what happened, i had to hack the admin password since i had bought this mac on ebay, but when i tried to update it, it wouldnt boot, so i had to install Tiger various amount of times, until one day disaster hit, and the Mac wouldnt install Tiger, i though it was the HDD but not everything is fine, it chimes and the looks for bootable discs. Just recently at 2:25PM CST, i heard the video card make noises with the fan, now im wondering if its the Video Card that is messing up. Any help would be great since i cannot find the AHT for this Mac and it wont boot the ASD. Just for fun facts, i was able to boot up my old iMac G3 Slot Loading.

    :apple:MarcoCervantes aka. Selim Bradley
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Dave H

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #2
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #3
    Here the problem, how do i upgrade when it does not have Tiger running? I have tried running a hardware test using TechTool pro 4 but it Kernel Panicked. like i said my mac has no OS running.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    SuperJudge

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    The Triangle, NC
    #4
    Well to do that particular firmware update, you have to be booted into OS 9.2.2 anyway. You'll need a spare harddrive or partition to use for the Classic OS.
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Dave H

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Any version of OS 9 should work on a G4 Sawtooth.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #6
    My OS 9 will only boot to a screen where it has CD all over it and from there it stalls.....
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Dave H

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    Does your OS 9 CD have a gold 9 on it (retail), or is it a gray disk (OEM)?
    OEM disks are made for specific Mac models, and may not have the necessary drivers for other models.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #8
    Ok major update! I got my mac to finally install Tiger AND get the 10.4.11 update not the problem is, it kernel Panicks after a few minutes of use. Any ideas?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #9
    Ok i got it not kernel panic anymore (i think it was a bad ram) but now Safari and Software Update wont run, any ideas?
     

Share This Page