Powermac G4 867 DP MDD upgrade

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Majikthese42, Aug 2, 2005.

1. Majikthese42 macrumors newbie

Jul 21, 2005
    I have an older Powermac G4 867 DP MDD, bus speed 133MHZ, 256 MB SDRAM and a CD-RW/DVD-ROM. It works fine for me, but it's getting old, and I'm starting to work from home so it's critical that I have a working computer at all times.

I'm planning to buy a new Mac, and use the 867 as a backup computer, but I also want to upgrade it.

1.) Will OSX Tiger work well with the 867MHZ processor?

2.) As for memory expansion, I moticed that the price difference between a 256 stick and a 512 stick is just $25. So why would someone buy a 256? And can I mix and match the 256 with a 512? Or would I be asking for trouble?

If this is dumb to ask, or has been asked about a bazillion times before, I apologise, but I tried using the "search" function first. I've been using Macs since 1989, but I just use 'em, I don't know what makes 'em tick! Thanks!
  2. wdlove macrumors P6

Oct 20, 2002
    Yes, Tiger will work on your Mac with no problem. I would recommend more RAM, purchase what you can afford. I have 1.25 GB of RAM on a older PM than yours. The Crucial RAM link above would be a good place to check for your needs.

What new Mac do you plan to purchase?
  3. Mord macrumors G4

Aug 24, 2003
    you can mix and match anything, i'd just get a 512MB stick, 768MB is a decent amount.
  4. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

Feb 10, 2003
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    As stated you can mix the diffrent sizes of RAM sticks, as long as ther are what ever you need to in your machine. i.e. i have 1.25 GB of RAM (256+256+256+512MB).

Also, another good site for looking for memory is OWC (MacSales). Once there you can select your model of computer and get a list of all the available upgrades for your computer.
  5. Majikthese42 thread starter macrumors newbie

Jul 21, 2005
  6. leekohler macrumors G5

Dec 22, 2004