PowerMac G4 Dual 1.42 will not boot

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Nameci, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #1
    Hello there guys and gals,

    I came back from field work and the moment I powered on my PMG4 FW800, I did not hear any boot chime. No video and after a while the CPU fan runs at full speed. Pushed the PMU reset button, removed the battery but still the same result it will not boot. Tried to remove all the peripherals, memory sticks down to one, the same thing, not able to boot.

    I am puzzled. Any tips guys?
     
  2. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    #2
    Sounds like a dead PSU. They are well known to die after so many years (I have known of 2, and heard of many more).

    Replacements are unfortunately not very cheap. Usually ~100$ + shipping on ebay due to their unusual shape and size.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #3
    if you like tinkering, there are some instructions on how to make a MDD PSU out of a normal PC ATX PSU.
    Zoetrap has done this http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1058843

    If the replacement PSUs are really 100,- in the USA, then you might want to consider buying a new MDD, since they seem to cost about 100-150USD, too. You can search ebay and click on "ended auction" to gather info on the prices yourself, though.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #4
    The PSU is working, I have swapped it out to my single MDD. It seems that it is a fried CPU or LoBo.

    I am still thinking if it is justifiable to more money and effort into it or throw it on the trash bin.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia.
    #5
    Chuck it and buy a 1.1 2006/07 Mac Pro.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    What single you have?
    If it's matching FSB you could easily test if it's lobo or CPU. Lobo is about $25 top IIRC (eBay).
    Out of curiosity: was machine sleep when you were away, or it was completely switched off (no voltage)?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #7
    I think I put it to sleep when I was away. My single is 1.25ghz with 167mhz fsb. I know that the processor would fit it, but I will not risk harming it if something will go wrong with the transplant.

    I have a strong hunch that processor is fried.
     
  8. adcx64, Jul 2, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2011

    macrumors 65816

    adcx64

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Cudi Zone
    #8
    I recall before you went out for field work you said that you won't turn the PowerMacs off, but instead, keep them in sleep, like you said in the previous post, this could be the root of the problem.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #9
    Probably I have turned it off when I went for field work but it was set to wake/start every morning and then sleep for about 3 hours of inactivity... :(
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    I think it may be time to get rid of it :-(...however, you can recycle the case and make it into something etc. if it's the logic board, I wouldn't put anymore money into it.

    Maybe it's time to use The MDD as a replacement to this.
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #11
    if it's not the PSU, you could buy one with defective PSU and put your PSU in it. Then you can sell the parts, left (even a dead PSU can be sold with the remark, that it is indeed defective. Some people repair these things.)

    You have to watch your local market, but when I look at the situation here I see this:

    - Dual MDD with defective PSU 40-70EUR
    - working Dual MDD 90-130EUR
    - working PSU 16-60EUR
    - Dual MDD with unspecified defect goes for 50EUR!

    (but you may want to keep in mind, that a Dual 1,8GHz/2GHz G5 costs about the same and you can sell it for the half of the price, when it is dead. I say that, because people here are very frightened about the "unreliability" of the G5s and a bit the MDD G4s. Look at the "what G4 would you recommend" thread).
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #12
    I am a tech hobby guy, sometimes what is important for me is finding out why some things happen than the amount of time and money I put into it.

    Right now, I am in no hurry to use it, though I love to. The guts I have moved to my single 1.25GHz MDD. I will find time to open it up again do some surgery on the CPU and we will see.

    Will keep you posted.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #13
    Mate your dreaming with those prices. I sold a dual 1.42 pristine mdd with apple 17 inch LCD and 250gb drive and 1 gb of ram for 70 aus.. That's 40 euros or there abouts..

    Just recently I bought a dual 1.25 mdd for 125nz and I know I got ripped off...

    Eitherway I wouldn't bank on those prices.
     

Share This Page