Powermac G4: HD in zip bay? will it work?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by tonywalker23, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2003
    Location:
    SC
    #1
    i have an extra hd laying around. i have a gigabit ethernet dual 450 powermac g4. i dont use zip disk. i know i could figure this out by installing it but i have my g4 the way i want it with all the cables nice and neat in my desk.

    before i undo everything and open the g4 up, does anyone know if takind out the zip drive and putting in a hd will work?
    thanks
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #2
    It should...I did the same a few years back on my old Blue and White to avoid sucking ATA bandwidth from my boot drive.
     
  3. macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #3
    I wondered this same thing when i had my dual G4 450. and the answer is no. it will not work, because the carriage for the zip drive is fit for the zip drive, and not a 3.5" HD.

    the only desktops that would allow this were the Beige G3 mini towers, and the MDD G4 towers.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #4
    Zip drives are 3.5-inch drives, just like floppy drives and most desktop hard drives. I can 99% guarantee that there will be no problems.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Sweetfeld28

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Location:
    Buckeye Country, O-H
    #5
    OK, my bad. The whole time i was writing that i was thinking about an optical drive and not a HD. Sorry.

    Well, maybe it will work.

     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #6
    I've been thinking of actually replacing the ZIP drive in mine with a USB hub of some sort.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #7
    It will work technically. First though, at least with the B&W 400 and quicksilver 933 towers is that the hard drive will fit very very tighly in the bay and the slot in the back in lines up for a zip drive, not a hard drive. So it will work in the slot, it just may require some work to get it in there. The other downside is a hard drive will create alot of heat. It will get hot being crammed into the zip bay and then resting right against the optical drive. Those are the two downsides i have noticed.
     

Share This Page