powermac G4 MDD 1.25 SP: APE or AP?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by QCassidy352, May 21, 2006.

  1. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
  2. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    I think this is the one that my friend has. Look it up on everymac.com

    Somehow I think it takes the old card.
     
  3. RGunner macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #3
    Easy enough...

    If it is OS 9 Bootable, it takes the old card.

    There were never drivers for an AE in OS 9, so thats a sure fire way to tell... Also, you can tell by the pins on the Airport connector. An Airport card slot appears like a standard 16bit PCMCIA card. An Airport Extreme card is much smaller, and looks like a short SO-Dimm connecter.

    But again, if you know its OS 9 bootable, its a done deal... original Airport card.
     
  4. QCassidy352 thread starter macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #4
    thanks, RGunner. It is definitely OS 9 bootable, so i guess it's the old one. :( Those go for a lot more these days...
     
  5. Faraday macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne Australia
    #5
    Airport or Airport Express ?

    Easy way to tell.

    If it has a FW800 port on the back, it will use Airport Extreme

    If it does not have a FW800 port, it will use regular Airport.
     
  6. Joeycapucino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #6
    Airport card for Power Mac G4 MDD

    Hi,

    I have a 1.25 Power Mac G4 and have installed the older Airport Card. It shows up in the system profile, but I'm trying to figure out how to make it connect with my Airport extreme basestation. It doesn't see it.

    Can't figure it out ... any luck on your end?

    Thanks,
    Joey
     
  7. Joeycapucino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Location:
    Henderson, NV
    #7
    MDD 1.25 Airport/Airport Extreme Card puzzle

    Hi there ... As this is after the fact ... sorry ... maybe you can help me!

    I'm in the same spot, although I purchased the older airport card which fits in the avaliable slot, and shows up in the system profiler fine. Although I am having trouble making it work with my Airport Extreme Basestation. I have also read in my research that you could get the extreme card as a custom order through Apple ... and I also saw a G4933 on ebay with the airport extreme card in it. So, i think it is possible. I am going to try to find out what the deal is with Apple, as the airport card works at a slower bps rate - I think 11bps, and the airport extreme gets 54bps ... here is the link:

    http://developer.apple.com/document...rMacG4/3Input-Output/chapter_4_section_7.html

    Let me know how you fare ...

    Joey
     
  8. jejshap macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    #8

Share This Page