Powermac G4 Sawtooth 400MHz Ram,

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by gibbo132, Jan 29, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #1
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    League City, Texas
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    League City, Texas
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #4
    Thanks, I read online that PC100 and PC133 were backwards compatible though ie the 133 will run a 100 or have I got that wrong?
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    League City, Texas
    #5
    You are right. The pc133 will run at pc100 speed.
    So it might be cheaper to just get the pc100.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
  7. macrumors 6502

    macz1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    #7
    I think the G4 accepts only non-ECC RAM. Both PC100 and PC133 can be used and even mixed, they will all run at 100MHz. I noticed that PC133 RAM can often be found cheaper than PC100 RAM (don't ask me why) especially the 512MB modules...

    Good luck with your G4 (I have one, too... still going strong!)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #8
    Great! I its good to get a straight answer from someone! I got the G4 really cheap of eBay original box, mouse and keyboard! I hope to use it as a file/itunes server :)

    Thanks,
    Chris
     
  9. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #9
    Just make sure it's low density memory. G4s can be very picky. I've had ECC work in my old G4 before but that's not saying that all ECC memory will work.... Stick to name-brand low density memory.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    G3s and G4s are insanely picky. I bought all my ram for those systems using Ramseeker.com, and I would continue to use it as the place to point me in the right direction if I needed it. TOO many times I saw people buy ram at a discount and then have it not work; it was always worth the extra couple of bucks to me to be sure...
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    #11
    I bought some ram last night on eBuyer. I guess I can tell you if it works on monday!
     

Share This Page