Powermac g5 1.8 single sucks!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Coca-Cola, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. Coca-Cola macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #1
    Hello, I use a Powermac G5 1.8 single processor with 1 gig of ram and it is sooooooo slooooooow. What is up? My G4 is way faster. Why?
     
  2. Coca-Cola thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #2
    The single 1.8 powermac I was using at the Apple Store froze. The Powermac 1.8 G5 I was using at Compusa has frozen during a demo!. I am prepared to say. The 1.8 single G5 sucks! Am I right or am I wrong.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Hamsters.

    You're not feeding them enough, and they are on a slowdown strike.

    Make sure you put sesame seeds through the holes in the front of your G5, that's what they're there for.




    :D

    Seriously?
    We need a LOT more data before we can even guess at your G5 problems.
     
  4. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    Can't be because you don't have enough memory -- with those G5s being memory hogs.
     
  5. Coca-Cola thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #5
    Well. The main computer I use at school for instruction seems to move very slowly. I get the spinning beachball all the time. I have a difficult time using quicktime. Whenever I try to slowly move the player. It loves to pause. Today, I was especially embarrised. My friend gave a presentation using Powerpoint and the application unexpectedly quit. Twice! Both times in the same spot. It is also very slow when it comes to displaying slides. It takes about 10 seconds to move from one image to the next. Hit the next button and it takes forever. Sometimes I get impatient and hit the button twice. This really slows things down and creates a huge traffic jam. I always dreamed about having a powermac G5, now that I actually get to use one, quiet frankly, it is a huge let down. I would rather use G4. I am looking forward to those intel macs. I don't have real super user priveledges with this machine. So I can't really do too much fixing up. The computer has 1 gig of ram! It should be much faster. I am thinking that there is a ram problem? Any ideas?
     
  6. toothpaste macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    #6
    Applications>Utilities>Activity Monitor

    Check here to see what's going on with the system. Is there an application that is killing system memory? What applications are running? Fair and repair permission? Basically look at your system, what's going on?:) :confused:
     
  7. p0intblank macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    Yeah, definitely look in Activity Monitor for any problems. Just don't jump to conclusions so quickly. A Mac just isn't slow, especially a G5 1.8 GHz with 1 GB of RAM. There has to be a reason.
     
  8. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #8
    A dying hard drive could cause it to be slower.... might want to run a disk check...
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    School computer... :rolleyes:

    Most likely too little memory, and a memory leak holding you back.

    You might not like it but a reboot may be in order, if you don't want to wait around with the spinning balls.

    ---

    Basically, I'd bet on a memory leak in one of the apps if the machines are generally left on all the time with a bunch of apps running.

    May also be fine after logging all the way out and going back in. If the school puts their own software on it (the leak could be there).
     
  10. Coca-Cola thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    WA
    #10
    Good point about the activity monitor. I will open that up soon. I varified permissions and they seem okay. I can't repair any permissions because I am limited in my use. I am not the main administrator. However, I should be (yes, I am a smug bastard). They computer is hooked up to an aged display (very old). The display automatically turns on when you start the Mac. However, if you put the mac to sleep, all hell breaks loose. There is a wierd connection between the mac and the display. Could that be the problem? Can an old display wreak havoc on a powermac's speed. Slow display, slow computer? Anyway, it is a * situation. The system is mostly shut down. I only run it for about two hours twice a week. Again, I would love to run macjanitor. But I can't, no super user administrator priveledges.
     
  11. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #11
    When I was in highschool and gradeschool, I really wanted admin. prevliages. We managedit anyway, and wow- the trouble that you can get in.

    If you explain the problem to the system admin, or teacher, they will likely log you on with admin. prelivlages so you can run Onyx (my favoite), MacJanator, or what ever. Ask, have the software on a disk, remind them that there are no OSX specific virusus (leave out the whole trogen horse thing). Likely the powers that be will let you help. The optmization programs are bassicly really advanced scripts. The risk to a system is minimal.

    Some things to think about are, is OS9 running, and does the compuer boot off a network.
     
  12. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #12
    Since most of the solutions involve this, no point in complaining here. I would suggest you definitely contact your school IT "admin."
     

Share This Page