Powermac G5 1.8GHz DP...Will a SATA optical drive work?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by lumine01, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    lumine01

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #1
    I know the computer specs say that it uses SATA for the drive bus, and IDE for the optical drive, but is it possible to replace the IDE optical drive with a SATA (Blu-Ray) drive?

    I tried searching for the answer here and elsewhere, but came up empty-handed. Thanks in advance for any help!!
     
  2. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #2
    Yes you could as long as you run a longer SATA cable to the motherboard but you only have 2 SATA connections and those are for the hard drives so you will lose one hard drive connection. You can also always get a SATA PCI card if you need more SATA ports.

    Just be aware that you can't watch commercial Blu-rays on a Mac. You can still however rip the BD discs and then watch them but I think the dual 1.8ghz might struggle with 1080p videos. My 2.5ghz quad won't even play my 1080p rips.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    lumine01

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    #3
    Perfect, thank you! Also, thanks for the heads-up about being able to play/watch the Blu-Rays. Fortunately, my intention is to install the new drive into my G5 in order to rip my Blu-Rays onto an external drive connected to an iMac. :) Great to hear that I can utilize the SATA already in the tower to give the Blu-Ray drive a happy home, thanks again!
     
  4. macrumors member

    XaPHER

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    In the Underworld
    #4
    You could connect up to 2 ATA drives if you use the Optical Drive's controller, too.
     
  5. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #5
    Yeah I threw hard drives in that space before but I had no idea that bus would work with two devices.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #6
    would a ide->sata convertor work?
     
  7. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #7
    You'll be limited to the IDE speeds though but that shouldn't matter since it's a optical drive.
     

Share This Page