Powermac G5 to MacPro

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by ThirteenXIII, Jun 8, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #1
    I had two questions; im looking at getting either a single 4-core macpro or the standard 8-core system,both would excel my work proficiently.

    Would it be cost efficient to do a CTO configuration as opposed to standard an dbuying my own drive and the 8800 separately?


    also is there a decent resale value on the G5 1,8 single cpu unit?



    thanks!
     
  2. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #2
    Upgrading hard drive and RAM yourself is always more cost effective.

    Why do you need the 8800? It depends on the type of work you are doing. Games, yes. Graphics work, no.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    As always, I agree completely with CanadaRAM.

    As for resale on single 1.8gHz G5s, not brilliant, but there's still a market, though it is slim. Best bet is to check ebay and see what they're going for there, should give you a general idea. Also, as RAM has dropped dramatically for them, maxxing out your RAM (or just filling your slots, if they aren't already full) is a good idea as well, as the price for a higher ram tower vs. the same tower with lower RAM + buying the RAM yourself is still skewed somewhat...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #4
    well i do both gaming & graphic intensive work. so the 8800 will that be beneficial for both or what is the recommendation?
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #5
    How intensive is the gaming?

    Take it with the 2600 XT, then upgrade at a later date if you feel the need.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    #6
    well wil there be ahuge performance difference? since the 2600 only has 256mb of ram (which is kind of bizarre for a procard) compared to the 512mb 8800?
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    I'm not familiar with those cards, but check the specs, the GPU and pipelines are more important than RAM (the Radeon 9600 Pro in my G5 has 64mb VRAM and with two monitors [so 32mb per display] outperforms the FX5200 with 128mb VRAM in my G4 with a single monitor).
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #8
    About $400-$800 depending on ram, hard drive(s), software, graphics car, wireless, etc.
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    #9
    Currently, the stock ATI card outperforms the 8800GT by a wide margin in Apple Pro Apps (such as Final Cut Studio, Aperture, etc.). The opposite is true with gaming. So, it really depends on what you use your system most for.

    Keep in mind that if you buy a non-Apple specific 8800GT, you'll have to flash the card with an EMI ROM within a Windows command line environment to make it work in a Mac. So if you don't plan on installing Windows/Boot Camp, it might actually make more sense to you to order a Mac Pro with the 8800GT CTO option.
     
  10. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #10
    Man, it never even occurred to me how much easier the Intel switch must have made GPU flashing! No more borrowing old towers so one can boot DOS...
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #11
    Get the best of both worlds, buy the MacPro with the 2600XT, buy the 8800GT from the Apple Store, put it in the 2nd PCIe slot and run one monitor on each card.
     
  12. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #12
    The other thing to consider is if you buy a CTO machine,, then you give up the ability to send it back for refund, or replacement with a new machine if it is DOA. On CTO machines you have to enter it into the warranty queue and wait for it to be repaired, even if it is 1 day old.
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Location:
    TX
    #13
    Good point about the CTO option. I would purchase stock and upgrade as funds were available.
     

Share This Page