Powermac G5: Want to replace 2.0 with 2.5 or 2.7... Realistic?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by mo sizzle, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #1
    Hey I have a powermac g5 2.0 dual, and I was wondering if I could replace it with a 2.5ghz cpu? Could I just swap the processor chips, or would i need the entire processor? I know the 2.5s were liquid cooled, so I was thinking that would create problems?

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #2
    Yes there is a small problem.

    It is a PIA, with the G5...

    Edit: sorry missed the dual core. Swap might be easier when they went to universal logic boards.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #3
    is there anyway to check the compatibility, such as pin numbers or something. And i was actually looking at a 2.7 dual core, the entire processor, not just the chips. would i need to do anything to the cooling system?
     
  4. macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #4
    It isn't a chip, it is a daughter card hiding under the heat sink.

    http://www.chaosmint.com/mac/g5-processor-module/

    Still need to find the service DVDs for the machine, since any CPU added to the machine has to be thermally calibrated or the fans go into panic mode.

    And the machine may default to a slower speed.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #5
  6. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #6
    The dual core motherboards only have 1 socket connector (at least mine does), so that processor wont work.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    Right, that processor looks like a dual-processor model, not a dual-core. I could be wrong, but I would guess that since there are two connections. I mean, I guess it could be a quad core (2Xdual core), but I'd think he would advertise that, and it still likely wouldn't work...
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    #8
    It's not really a very realistic undertaking... there are major complications involved, and I don't think you can even adjust the CPU speed, which will run at what you bought it at anyway, new CPU or not.

    Plus, that's a dual-cpu configuration.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #9
    wow i am an idiot. my g5 is a 2.0 dual, not a dual core. i dont know why i said it was
     
  10. macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #10
    Then there is a slight chance it could. But it is a ton of work. Everything will have be re calibrated from what I understand. Easier to buy a new G5.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #11
    well my g5 works, its just that im going to get a mbp in a year or so, and ive noticed that people have been selling cpu units for extremely cheap. so i figured if i could upgrade my g5 i would
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #12
    100% not possible. If you want a faster G5 your only options are to replace the whole logicboard and CPU as a matched set or buy a new G5 machine.

    If you change processors the fans will run at full blast all the time AND the CPU speed will run at the computers original clock. If you even swap existing CPUs to opposite slots (A-B) the fans will stay at full blast until the computer is recalibrated by an Apple dealer.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #13
    hmm so if i got a 2.7 cpu unit and the logic board for it i could perform a clean swap?
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Zedd

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #14
    You would at least need the power supply too, the dual 2.0 does not have enough watts to supply its needs.
     
  15. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #15
    power mac g5 dual 2.0ghz can go for about 800 bucks, might as well just sell it and get another one
     

Share This Page