Powermac G5 wireless question

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by BigDukeSix, Jun 16, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #1
    Now that my G5 Powermac has been replaced by a Mini, I was thinking of using it to connect to my TV so I can watch streaming video online. However, the G5 does not have an airport card installed, and I do not really want to run a 50 ft cable into my living room so it can be online.

    What are my options? Will the dongles that plug into a USB port work with my G5? If so, any suggestions as to which one to get?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #3
    An alternative is to use an airport express/extreme/timecapsule base station as a bridge and connect the powermac to it via ethernet. I've used this and it works well (on an all apple network).
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    BigDukeSix

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Location:
    34.6700N 118.1590W
    #4
    Interesting idea. How hard it that to set up in Airport Utility? I do have an all Apple network so it should be fairly easy, but I am never sure about using the express as a bridge from my extreme.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #5
    No problems, I remember it only taking a couple of minutes (it was over a year ago I did it, so my memory is a bit sketchy). I happen to do it with an old time capsule. I just added it to the network using airport utility. I think I ticked the option to not allow wireless clients so my Wii didn't log on at g speeds and slow the whole network down. (Network hub is a dual band timecapsule). It should work fine. I guess if you have to buy an express it isn't worth the cost, but if you have one you could redeploy it might be worth a try.
     

Share This Page