Powermac multi processor question.

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Moog101, Jan 25, 2006.

  1. Moog101 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi

    I'm thinking of buying a Powermac and I have a question about multi processors. I'm not going to be using the machine for any pro apps, just iLife stuff, a bit of light photoshop work etc, etc. (I mainly want the Powermac for the better GFX card and upgradeability)

    Will the multiple processors be utilised for this sort of use, or do the applications have to be written with multi processors in mind?

    What i'm saying is that for everyday stuff, will a dual (or quad) processor Powermac be noticeably faster than a single, or only for heavy duty pro apps?

    Thanks

    M
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Apps have to be multi-threaded to see any real noticable advantages from running on a multi-processor machine. iLife and some parts of Photoshop are multi-processor aware.

    The other advantage of a multi-processor machine is that you can leave iMovie rendering away and use another app without really noticing that iMove is churning away on 1 CPU.
     
  3. Moog101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    That sounds good. I have 2 other users on the same machine that stay logged in and always have many apps open. I'll be nice to see the spinning beachball less.

    M
     
  4. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #4
    I think a quad would be WAY over kill, I'm sure you could pick up a good deal on a referbished / new but old stock dual 2ghz or 2.5. or the new dual core 2.0ghz. All nice machines that would fly through pretty much anything you through at them.

    New iMacs are worth a look too - Very fast and probably better value. Although not as upgradable as the powermacs.
     
  5. Moog101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Yep, I sort of guessed that a quad would be pretty much overkill for what I need it for. It was just an "in principal" type of question. I've already got a rev A iMac which is pretty good at most things I throw at it, but i've got Powermac envy :)

    I'm going to wait until the Powermacs get "Intel Inside" before getting one so it'll be a while yet.

    M
     
  6. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #6
    It happens to all of us :)

    I've got major quad + dual 30s envy - i've also got £6k envy :p

    I
    i think your wise - they are going to BLAZE
     
  7. Moog101 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Although I think i'll probably also wait until they are in revision B, just in case (especially with whole new chipset and all) I've learnt from past experience. I had problems with my rev A iMac, had to have the whole mainboard replaced. The technician that took the old board out showed me how all the capacitors had expanded like mini balloons and cracked when it got hot.

    It'll probably be this time next year i'll be looking in the apple store for one :)
     

Share This Page