PowerMac worth 1850 euro's / 2240 USD ?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Woutje, Aug 21, 2005.

1. Woutje macrumors member

Aug 21, 2005

I've been interested in a mac for quite some time now, but have never bought one before. I'm studying multimedia and communicationstechnology at college, so I work with all the pro app's like Flash, Photoshop etc... Normally I'd say that a PowerMac is just what I need. But the pricetag just seems a bit too high for me. Where I live the cheapest powermac costs 1850 euro's (or 2240 USD), which is a 2x2ghz machine with 512 MB. It doesn't even have 1 gig of ram at that price and a radeon 9600 that's getting a bit passe. I've been playing with PC hardware all my life, juggling cards and ram's, so I do know a lot about PC's. I suppose the powermac has indeed a lot of processing power, but is it worth the high price? Normally I could get a 3Ghz AMD64 with 1 GB ram and a faster 3d card, plus a monitor at that price. With the powermac I'd even have to buy a monitor (i don't have a decent one to spare atm). So tell me, what's so great about this machine that makes it worth the price. What makes you guys spend so much money on this?

Oh yeah, this price is WITH the student discount!
  2. FFTT macrumors 68030

Apr 17, 2004
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    First of all, how soon will you need a new machine?

If you can wait through September. we may see something new out of the Paris Expo.

If you need something sooner, You should be looking at the G5 dual 2.3
    running at least 1 GB of RAM and the 128MB GPU will hold you just fine.

You could actually get by on an iMac G5 2.0, but a tower is really the way to go for any serious production work.

As a professional, time is money and any G5 PowerMac running Tiger will greatly improve your workflow and overall ease of productivity over nearly any Microsoft Windows based system.