Powermacintosh 7500100 to iMac G5

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AP_piano295, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. AP_piano295 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    #1
    I have just replaced my powermacintosh 7500100 running os 9 to an iMac g5 1.8mghz run osx 10 how do I transfer files between these two massively time seperated systems?

    *note it does have two added usb 1.0 ports and I will only be transphering small but very personally important things over to the g5
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Wow, that's a big jump! :eek:

    Does your 7500 have Ethernet?
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    The easiest way is if you have a camera memory card and a USB reader , or a USB keychain memory card. Back up to the card, switch the card to the iMac.

    Second way is to establish an Ethernet network between the 7500 and th iMac. Just plug an Etherent cable between the two, the iMac will detect whether it is a crossover or a straight through and adjust.
    You'll turn on AppleTalk on both machines, set Appletalk to Ethernet Built-in, turn on File Sharing on the 7500, put all of your subject files in a folder that you will Share, and either Browse from the iMac or hit the Networks alias. Find the shared folder on the 7500 and transfer to the iMac.

    Now depending how old the Appleshare software is on the 7500, you may or may not have to update it. Can't remember, I think 3.8.3 was the earliest version that can hook up with OSX - do some searching on Apple support if you need to know the details.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Yes, all 7500 have Ethernet built in, luckily the 7500/100 has a 10BaseT connector as well as the infamous AAUI connector. Earlier models needed a #%$@% $75 adaptor to plug into a network.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=112322
     
  5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #5
    Have you got an iPod or some sort of USB drive? That'd be the obvious (but slow) answer if you don't have ethernet.
     
  6. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    I used the ethernet route with no problem when I upgraded to my G4 imac from a 7500. It took about 60 seconds to move over all my files. Can't fit too much on that 1GB drive.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Ah OK, I'm certainly not an expert when it comes to the old models - bought my first Mac in 2003.
     

Share This Page