PowerPC 970MP iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by RedDragon870503, Dec 13, 2006.

  1. RedDragon870503 macrumors 6502

    RedDragon870503

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #1
    Quick question:

    Why couldn't I, hypothetically, swap a PowerPC 970MP for the PowerPC 970FX in an iMac G5 (iSight)? Aren't the architectures very similar as well as the PowerPC 970MP's temp actually lower?

    Again, I am formally requesting no one makes fun of me as I am sure there is a rather obvious problem with this transition.

    Thanks.
     
  2. emptyCup macrumors 65816

    emptyCup

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    #2
    In the first generation of the G5 iMac w iSight the processor is soldered directly to the motherboard and therefore can not be replaced. I do not know how many generations of this machine there were. The first step would be to open your machine and see if the processor is socketed.
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    I guess in principle there are three generations of iMac w/ iSight, but only one with a G5. The second had a Core Duo and the third has a C2D. Assuming this is correct and that the G5 is soldered, there is little that can be done.
     
  4. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    #4
    unless you have l33t soldering/desoldering sk33lz
     
  5. RedDragon870503 thread starter macrumors 6502

    RedDragon870503

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    #5
    So, let's assume I can physically remove the chip. Is it feasible (as it sounds like it is not practical) to put a new MP in it's place?
     
  6. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #6
    Sure....if you can find one.
     

Share This Page