PowerPoint mac-pc conversion problem

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by hobbes3113, Jun 16, 2004.

  1. hobbes3113 macrumors regular

    hobbes3113

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    I am at a loss. I have to give a presentation in a few days and the organizers are requesting a CD with the presentation saved as a PC powerpoint file. This would normally not be a problem as I have done this many times, however, this time I have Excel graphs in the presentation. Although the graphs show up beautifully on my powerbook, when I open the file on a pc the graphs do not display.. I have tried to click on the graph to open the Excel file in windows, but it says the file is not recognized. I cannot figure out a way to get around this problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    -Hobbes
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    How did you place the graphs?
    Did you link to them?
    Did you paste them in as pictures?

    Maybe a little more information about how they were placed into PowerPoint would help solve this issue.
     
  3. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    An almost elegant solution is to save the graphs, or the whole slide, as a graphic (you can just do a screen grab), then paste the graphic back into the slide. That way it can't change....
     
  4. hobbes3113 thread starter macrumors regular

    hobbes3113

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    I apologize, I should have included this in my original post.

    The graphs were created by one of my collegues and inserted into a powerpoint document (presumably this was done on a PC, but I am not entirely sure). I then inserted these slides into my document and opened the individual graphs and adjusted the color scheme to match my template. This involved double clicking on the graph, thus opening the data file in Excel, making the necessary color changes, and then closing Excel. This effectively updated the ppt document giving the desired changes. The error seems to be occuring when I take the, now mac, file back to the dreaded black box to resave it in pc format. I have yet to try Gee's method, so hopefully that will work.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  5. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #5
    OK, without knowing how you put your graph in... you should be able to select your graph in Excel and copy it, then in Powerpoint, you can choose "paste special" and then select to paste it as a picture, etc. This should show up OK in the PC version.

    If not, you need to let us know how you placed it into PowerPoint.

    Edit: sorry, I posted before I saw your response above. However, if double clicking on the graph opens Excel, you should be able to copy from there and still re-paste using "paste special" back into your slide (deleting the one that is already there).
     
  6. hobbes3113 thread starter macrumors regular

    hobbes3113

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Ok, this didn't work. I still have the same problems. I also tried the grab method. It worked to some extent, the picture was there, but the background color did not transfer properly. :confused: I can't figure out why this is the case since there is no difference in the copied background and the slide background. Again, this problem only shows up on the pc. I hate these infernal machines. Any other ideas??

    Thanks again.
     
  7. Gee macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    Do you have the original Excel file? If so, try putting both the powerpoint and the excel file in the same folder on your mac, opening and saving them (so powerpoint knows where the excel chart is), then taking the whole folder onto the PC...
     
  8. Fukui macrumors 68000

    Fukui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #8
    Better to just paste the graphs as images. Its entirely possible, depending on what Office Version they have, there could be incompatibilities in the linked files...
     
  9. hobbes3113 thread starter macrumors regular

    hobbes3113

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #9
    it is finally over

    Well, thanks for all the help. I finally decided to save the entire presentation in tiff format and then reimport each slide as a tiff file. This seems to have worked, hopefully there won't be any more problems.

    Thanks again!!
     
  10. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #10
    a better way would have been to save the powerpoint file as pdf under the print menu. adobe acrobat reader supports "slides" and it isn't a problem. i know maybe people who make slides in powerpoint then convert them to pdf cause their demos are on a linux laptop. The downside is you won't be able to have animation or sound.
     
  11. Fukui macrumors 68000

    Fukui

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    #11
    Quicktime export.
     
  12. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #12
    I was about to ask if the graphs were linked instead of embedded and when he copied the presentation to the PC he forgot to copy the external .xls files as well?

    That's why I like keynote. Everything is embedded and when you export to ppt, keynote saved everything in a folder with the slideshow.
     
  13. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #13

    hmm i have to try that thanx :)
     

Share This Page