Powerpoint PC and Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by derajfast, Aug 14, 2005.

  1. derajfast macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #1
    i know if i make a ppt on my mac (or a word doc with a picture) and you send it to a pc, or try to play it off a cd on a pc, the picture wont be displayed....i find this very very annoying....is there anything i can do (easily and hassle free) that will cure this problem??
     
  2. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #2
    actually it does show the pictures, it all depends on what filetype the picture is. I have had some show and then others not show .tiff didn't show on one of mine, but .jpeg does
     
  3. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #3
    If you need to only see and not edit, pdf is the most reliable cross-platform format, I think. And you can make them easily from Office. And Acrobat has a full screen mode so that you can show the presentation directly from Acrobat.

    Otherwise, as Eva said, there are file formats that are more reliable. I have this problem even transferring between PCs that have the same PC version of Office.... :(
     
  4. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #4
    i thought this happened with like any picture file.......if i copy a jpeg into a word doc, and then send that to my pc and open it in word, it says it cannot display the picture
     
  5. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    I only have problems when I copy and paste the picture. Now I save the picture to the desktop, and then insert the picture from file, into the Powerpoint. Then, when the file is transferred, the pictures work fine.
     
  6. derajfast thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    #6
    yeah i think you are right actaully......is there a way to make it work though without having to save it?
     
  7. macbaseball macrumors 6502a

    macbaseball

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Northern California
    #7
    I don't think so. It's actually not that big of a pain though because of the function to option click. It probably seems like a pain, but once you get in the habit of saving them, you won't even think about it.
     

Share This Page