PPC G5 and Memory

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Z6128, Jun 23, 2005.

  1. Z6128 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    i noticed that the G5 processor can support more than 4gb of ram, but then why does the iMac only able to have up to 2gb? is it a different type of G5 processor? is it still a 64bit processor?

    and just a slightly off topic question. what are the differences between G4 and G5. i'm wondering whether i should buy a 20inch iMac G5 or an iBook sometime after they are updated (hopefully soon). the G5 does give a lot for the price, but i like portability.

    thanks in advance for any input
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    Apple doesn't think a consumer/prosumer model needs to be able to have up to 4 GB of RAM?
     
  3. eva01 macrumors 601

    eva01

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Location:
    Gah! Plymouth
    #3
    bingo

    and it would probably make the iMac a bit thicker or bigger in some way to add the other slots into it.

    But anyways you can *probably* stick 2GB sticks into the iMac G5 to make it 4GB RAM
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    All G5 Macs can support way more than 8GB of RAM, let alone 2GB but Apple only provides a limited amount of slots. It makes sense that the more expensive computer, the Power Mac, has more slots.

    I've got an iBook and an iMac and can safely say the speed difference is pretty substantial, even for regular stuff. Having said that, my mere 800MHz G4 iBook is more than adequate for Office, email, internet etc.

    What do you plan on using your new Mac for?
     
  5. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    The amount of memory the machine can address depends on the memory controller, not on the CPU and not on the number of sockets (although the sockets can be a limitation on how many modules can beinstalled).

    http://developer.apple.com/document...per_Notes/Macintosh_CPUs-G5/iMacG5/index.html

    The specifications are pretty clear that the machine supports only up to 1 Gb modules. As there are no Non-ECC, Non-registered 2 Gb PC3200 modules with 16 or fewer chips on the market, the chances of 2 GB modules for the iMac G5 are slim to none.
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    Thanks for that CanadaRAM. I learn something new everyday here. :)

    It's a shame though, I would have loved to put a 2GB chip into my spare slot one day. :(
     
  7. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #7
    most people would never get the full advantage out of 4 gb of ram anyways.
     
  8. link92 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    #8
    If I remember correctly, the G5 supports 16 exabytes of RAM.
     

Share This Page