PPC Mac's and ECC memory?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by dime21, Oct 31, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #1
    Hello all, I know the new Xeon based Power Mac uses ECC memory - a very good thing any time you're doing serious work. Does anyone know if there was ever a PPC machine from Apple that could make use of ECC memory?

    Thanks
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Hrududu

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Location:
    Wichita KS
    #2
    The late 2005 PowerMac G5 will use ECC RAM. The system you're referring to in the first sentence is called a Mac Pro. (just to avoid any confusion here).
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    #3
    Im pretty sure the entire G5 line both workstations and xserves can take ECC, I've used it on (June 2004) and (Early 2005) G5's as well as xserves.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    G5 Xserves are ECC only.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    While the PowerMac G5 line up will be able to use ECC ram, they will use it without the ECC being active on them. So it'd be like having regular ram in it. I'm unsure if the G5 iMacs can use ECC ram in a similar manner, but I would think they do.
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Location:
    Wollongong, Australia
    #6
    I'm pretty sure that no G5s used ECC memory, if they could take it then they didn't use the ECC function.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    #7
    Bummer. :( Thanks for all the replies.
     
  8. wobegong, Nov 1, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2012

    Guest

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    #8
    All the final PM G5's ('Late 2005') take and fully support ECC and so long as every stick is ECC (and not ECC/Non-ECC mixed) then ECC WILL be active.
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #9
    I once had to test SD-RAM sticks and found out, that a PowerMac G4 AGP will take ECC-RAM, though I bet it doesn't make use of it.
    For the G5, there is an apple document about it, search for it.
     

Share This Page