PPP Persistent Connection Problem (AOL Related)

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by dwhthompson, Sep 2, 2004.

1. dwhthompson macrumors newbie

Sep 2, 2004

I am fairly new to OS X and am running system 10.2.8.

Have been having a recent problem where my MAC kept on dialing out on my modem.

Couldn't figure out what programme was trying to go online and I checked out the system log /var/logs/system.log where it appeared that an "aol.net" file kept activating the internet connection.

Now, while I was doing research away from home I confess that I did temporarily try using AOL as my internet provider... but no longer.

I have now removed the AOL programme and have searched and removed all other files called "aol" from system.

However, after removing files from the folder "com.aol.net.ppp" I received the message that "There was a problem with my PPP Settings".

When I replaced the folder again, I was able to connect to my ISP.

Does anyone know how I can fix this problem and remove the viral AOL software from my machine? I hate to have to reinstall 10.2.6 and then do all the upgrading again to get the right (non aol) ppp files.

I greatly appreciate any help you can provide.

However, there was one set
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

Jun 6, 2003
    Solon, OH
    My iMac had an AOL for Mac uninstaller located in /Applications/Installers. However, if you deleted that, you're best off reinstalling the Mac OS. Does anyone have a better idea or have experience with AOL (since I don't)?
  3. vraxtus macrumors 65816

Aug 4, 2004
    San Francisco, CA
    This isn't really related, but it might be pertinent.