press key -> repeat character ... not working?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by razoel123, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #1
    as it says in the title, when i press a key, like 'a', my air does not repeat it automatically, i have to press the key again and again ... and again.

    a picture of my keyboard preferences is attached. i am confused.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #2
    It's because of Lion. You cant change that.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #3
    I thought you could change it, but the default was to bring up the menu with the additional characters? This is probably a question for the Lion forum.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #4
    Thats above my knowledge then. I just remember long discussions and complains by users all over the Lion forum.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #5
    wow. then from now on it will either take forever to write loooooooooooooooooooooool or i use copy & paste. wtf.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #6
    It's unhealthy to "laugh out loud" for too long anyway. ;)
     
  7. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    Curious why you'd want your "a" or any other letter key to repeat?
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    MJedi

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #8
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #9
    looooooool
    FUUUUUU
    Ooooooh
    Nooooooo
    Hellooooo
    AAAAAH


    [​IMG]
    WRYYYYYYYY
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #10
    Thank you, Apple, for making it that much harder for people to type like this.

    How about making the spelling and grammar checkers mandatory in 10.8? ;)
     
  11. macrumors regular

    ormie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #11
  12. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #12
    They should also limit the "." to three (an ellipsis).
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Lord Appleseed

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    Location:
    Apple Manor
    #13
    But but but .................... :(
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    #14
    The elipsis is option-semicolon.

    The Mac Is Not A Typewriter.

    You do not make elipses out of periods/fullstops.
     

Share This Page