pressing f1, f2, f3, etc without using fn key

Discussion in 'macOS' started by aleni, Jun 4, 2006.

  1. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #1
    is it possible to press f1 to execute f1 as default instead of pressing fn+f1 ?

    coz i use more of the f1, f2 etc keys than the turning up and down volume or brightness.

    sorry for my bad explanation. im not fluent in english language.
     
  2. FragTek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2006
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    #2
    Yup, u sure can! Go in to System Preferences then to Keyboard & Mouse.

    In that menu you will see a check box that says Use the F1-F12 keys to control software features. Check that box and you can now use the F keys as software keys instead of hardware control keys. You can now use the fn key with the F keys to control the hardware functions.

    Cheers mate!
     
  3. aleni thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #3
    oh great! my bad didnt check the keyboard option first.

    anyway, thnks for the quick reply! i love this forum. :)
     
  4. gammamonk macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #4
    Sweet, I've been wondering that myself. ^__^ That'll be nice for the expose buttons on my powerbook.
     
  5. hidea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 10, 2006
    #5

    you can set that under the expose and dashboard menu itself. You don't have to set it from the mouse menu at all.
     

Share This Page