Print screen? Or different name for Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by MikeAppz, May 7, 2006.

  1. MikeAppz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    #1
    I just switched over from a PC. If I want to do a print screen (at least that is what it was called on a dell) and copy it to the clipboard or save the image of my screen, how do I do this? Is there a key for this on the keyboard like on PC's
     
  2. mikes63737 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #2
    Command+Shift+3 will save your entire screen as a PNG image.

    Command+Shift+4 will allow you to select part of your screen and save that as a PNG image.

    Edit: PNG's are saved to the desktop.
     
  3. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #3
    There are four different keyboard combination to do a screen capture.

    cmd+shift+3 - capture screen to a file on the desktop
    cmd+ctrl+shift+3 - capture screen to the clipboard
    cmd+shift+4 - capture screen selection to a file on the desktop
    cmd+ctrl+shift+4 - capture screen selection to the clipboard

    See "System Preferences -> Keyboard & Mouse" for more useful keyboard shortcuts.
     
  4. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #5
    YOU GUYS OMG you forgot the best one!!!

    CMD+SHIFT+4 then press Spacebar to take snapshots of windows/desktops =O

    It's awesome when you get the camera
     
  5. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #6
    slooksterPSV, that's awesome! I never knew that one.
     
  6. truz macrumors 6502a

    truz

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Location:
    Florida
    #7
    I agree, this is a very handy one :) thanks
     
  7. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    That is so awesome, thanks for the little camera! Makes my life a lot easier. :)
     
  8. iMarley macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #9
    I'm running 10.3.9 and when I take a screenshot it saves it to the destop as a pdf??? Is there anyway to change this?
     
  9. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #10
    Yeah, upgrade to 10.4 ;) Seriously though, I'm pretty sure there's no way to change it in 10.3.
     
  10. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #11
    Other than converting it in Photoshop, of course...
     
  11. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #12
    or graphicconverter, the shareware alternative.
     
  12. gekko513 macrumors 603

    gekko513

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    #13
    Or Preview ... the bundled alternative. (At least it can do "Save As" and "make new from clipboard" in Tiger.)
     
  13. camomac macrumors 6502a

    camomac

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #14
    you could also use "grab" in your applications/utilities folder.

    i like that quite a bit, saves it as a .tiff

    just a thought....
     
  14. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #15
    You can also use Onyx (I gotta run Onyx) and change to what it saves as.
     
  15. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #16
    Doesn't the Terminal trick work in Panther? I seem to remember doing it.

    Open Terminal and at the prompt, type:

    Code:
    defaults write com.apple.screencapture type png
    (Or use your favorite file format if you don't like PNG.)

    Log out of your account and back in, and it should work.
     
  16. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #17
    Somebody should try that terminal trick out and tell us if it works so that I don't have to be the guinea pig. :D
     
  17. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #18
    I checked does not seem to work. It still outputs pdf files.:(
     
  18. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #19
    Hmmm...I thought that worked in Panther. My bad. :eek: :(
     
  19. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #20
    Edit: I'm retarded, I used a different defaults command in Jaguar and relied on Folder Actions in Panther...
     
  20. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #21
    You can always change it back with

    defaults write com.apple.screencapture type pdf

    Edit: An alternative is to use Folder Actions - http://creativebits.org/mac_os_x/folder_action_script_image_conversion
     

Share This Page