Print to AppleTalk printer from XP

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Nermal, Apr 6, 2005.

  1. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #1
    My brother came home with an AppleTalk print server yesterday. You plug one end into your LAN and the other end into your printer. It works fine, I can see the printer on my Mac, and also on Windows 2000 after installing the AppleTalk protocol.

    The problem is that XP doesn't have the AppleTalk protocol. Basically we need a way to talk to an AppleTalk printer from an XP box. Any ideas?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #2
    Not sure about this, and it kind of defeats the purpose of having a print server, but you could share the network printer from your Mac, and I think the XP box would see it that way.

    Also, I did a quick Google search and came across this page, which says this:
    On a W2K machine (and maybe similarly in WXP, I don't know)...
    1) Select "Start>Settings>Network and Dial-Up Connections"
    2) Open the properties of "Local Area Connection" or whatever you named your connection.
    2) Select "Install>Protocols>Add->AppleTalk Protocol" and finish.
    3) Select "Start>Settings>Printers"
    4) Select "Add Printer>Next"
    5) Select "Local Printer(don't "Automatically detect my plug and play printer")>Next
    6) Select "Create New Port>AppleTalk Printing Devices>Next"
    7) Navigate to and select your on-line AppleTalk printer and press "OK"
    8) You probably don't want to "Capture this AppleTalk device?" since this PC is probably a guest on a Mac network, but you could.
    9) Choose a driver, etc.
     
  3. Nermal thread starter Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    Yeah, that does defeat the purpose :rolleyes:

    I've seen that, but it doesn't work in XP because AppleTalk's no longer supported :(
     
  4. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #4
    Ah yeah, it looks like you're S.O.L. This helpful Microsoft Knowledgebase Article basically tells you to figure it out on your own.

    You'd probably be better off buying a used Airport BaseStation and plugging it into that!
     

Share This Page